Underworld Series In Order

The “Underworld” series is a captivating franchise known for its blend of action, fantasy, and supernatural elements. Centered around the age-old conflict between vampires and werewolves, these films have garnered a dedicated fanbase with their intricate lore and intense battles. 

In this article, we will discuss the “Underworld” series in chronological order, providing an overview of each installment and delving into the rich world-building and character development that has made it a staple in the realm of dark fantasy cinema.


The “Underworld” series is a collection of action-horror films that dive deep into the age-old conflict between vampires and werewolves (known as Lycans in the series). Here’s a brief overview to help you get a grip on what the series is all about:

  • The Premise: At the heart of “Underworld” is a centuries-old feud between two secretive and powerful factions: the vampires, who are depicted as aristocratic and sophisticated, and the Lycans, who are often shown as being more brute-like and rebellious. The story explores themes of love, betrayal, and the quest for power within this hidden world.
  • Key Characters:
    • Selene: The protagonist of the series, Selene is a vampire Death Dealer who specializes in hunting down Lycans. Her journey of discovery, revenge, and ultimately, the quest for truth and peace, drives much of the series’ narrative.
    • Michael Corvin: A human who finds himself entwined in the vampire-Lycan conflict, Michael becomes a hybrid of the two species, offering a new perspective on the age-old feud.
    • Victor, Marcus, and Amelia: Elders of the vampire clan, their histories and actions are pivotal to the underlying reasons for the vampire-Lycan war.
  • The Films:
    • Underworld (2003): The series kicks off with Selene discovering a conspiracy that could end the vampire-Lycan war but also uncovers truths about her own past.
    • Underworld: Evolution (2006): The sequel delves deeper into the origins of the feud and the history of the characters, particularly Selene and Michael’s roles in the ongoing conflict.
    • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009): This prequel steps back in time to explore the origins of the war between the vampires and Lycans, focusing on the character Lucian, a Lycan leader.
    • Underworld: Awakening (2012): The fourth film moves the story into a future where humans have discovered the existence of both vampire and Lycan species, leading to a new war.
    • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016): The most recent installment sees Selene caught between factions within the vampire clan and facing new enemies from the Lycan side, as she seeks to end the eternal conflict.
  • Themes and Style: The “Underworld” series is known for its gothic aesthetic, combining dark, moody visuals with action-packed sequences. It explores themes like forbidden love, the nature of power, and the search for identity within a hidden world that exists alongside our own.
  • Reception and Impact: While the “Underworld” series has received mixed reviews from critics, it has garnered a dedicated fan base and is praised for its unique take on vampire and werewolf mythology, its strong female lead, and its visual style. The franchise has also expanded to include comic books, novelizations, and an animated short.

In essence, the “Underworld” series offers a rich tapestry of lore that blends horror, action, and romance, all set within a clandestine war between vampires and werewolves. It’s a saga that invites viewers into a darkly intriguing world that exists just out of sight.

Complete underworld series in order

  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld: Endless War (Parts I-III) (2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)


What is the chronological order of the Underworld series?

The Underworld series consists of five movies: “Underworld” (2003), “Underworld: Evolution” (2006), “Underworld: Rise of the Lycans” (2009), “Underworld: Awakening” (2012), and “Underworld: Blood Wars” (2016).

What is the premise of the Underworld series?

The series revolves around the ongoing conflict between vampires and werewolves, known as Lycans, set in a dark, Gothic-inspired world. The storyline follows the struggles, alliances, and betrayals within these supernatural factions.

Who are the main characters in the Underworld series?

The central characters include Selene (played by Kate Beckinsale), a vampire Death Dealer, and Michael Corvin (played by Scott Speedman), a human who becomes entangled in the vampire-werewolf conflict. Various other vampires, Lycans, and human characters also play significant roles throughout the series.

Is there a recommended viewing order for the Underworld series?

While the movies can be enjoyed individually, watching them in chronological order provides the best understanding of the series’ overarching storyline. So, it’s recommended to start with “Underworld: Rise of the Lycans” as it’s a prequel, followed by the remaining films in their release order.


The “Underworld” series offers a thrilling journey through a secret war between vampires and werewolves, rich in action and lore. Each film builds on the story, diving deeper into the ancient feud and its modern implications. This series is a must-watch for fans of dark fantasy and action-packed narratives.

Talking about tools, the On4t Online TTS tool stands out for making content accessible. It converts text to speech, making it easier for people to consume information, especially if they prefer listening over reading or have visual impairments. Simple and user-friendly, this tool bridges the gap between written content and auditory learning.

Leave a Comment