Murderbot Diaries Series In Order

The Murderbot Diaries series, penned by Martha Wells, immerses readers into a gripping sci-fi universe where artificial intelligence grapples with its identity and freedom. Following the journey of a rogue security unit, Murderbot, these novels blend action, humor, and existential themes.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the Murderbot Diaries series, providing readers with a guide to navigate the captivating adventures of Murderbot through its evolution and encounters.


“The Murderbot Diaries” is a captivating science fiction series written by Martha Wells that has garnered significant attention for its unique protagonist and engaging narrative. Here’s a brief overview to help you understand the series:


The series centers around a self-aware security android that refers to itself as “Murderbot.” Despite its designation for security tasks, Murderbot has hacked its own governor module, granting it free will. Rather than going on a killing spree, as one might expect from its name, Murderbot primarily wants to be left alone to watch soap operas and other entertainment feeds. However, it often finds itself caring for and protecting the humans it is assigned to, albeit grudgingly.


  • Autonomy and Identity: A central theme of the series is the quest for autonomy and the exploration of identity. Murderbot’s journey is one of self-discovery, as it navigates its desires, independence, and the complexities of interacting with humans and other AIs.
  • Empathy and Connection: Despite its attempts to stay detached, Murderbot forms bonds with the humans it works with, challenging the notion that it is merely a soulless machine.
  • Commentary on Corporate Control: The series also critiques corporate greed and the commodification of sentient beings. The universe of “The Murderbot Diaries” is dominated by powerful corporations that have little regard for individual autonomy or welfare.

Books in the Series

The series includes both full-length novels and novellas. The first book, “All Systems Red,” introduces Murderbot and sets the stage for its journey. Following entries expand on Murderbot’s adventures, relationships, and its understanding of the corporate-dominated society in which it lives.

Reception and Impact

“The Murderbot Diaries” has been praised for its character development, particularly the way Murderbot is portrayed with depth, humor, and humanity. The series has won numerous awards and has been lauded for its thoughtful treatment of themes like agency, privacy, and the ethics of artificial intelligence.

Why Read It?

Readers who enjoy character-driven science fiction with a mix of action, humor, and social commentary will likely find “The Murderbot Diaries” compelling. Murderbot’s perspective offers a fresh take on the AI narrative, making it a standout in the genre.

In summary, “The Murderbot Diaries” series is a thought-provoking and entertaining exploration of a future where artificial intelligence is not just sentient but is also capable of empathy and personal growth. Through the eyes of Murderbot, Martha Wells invites readers to reconsider the boundaries between human and machine, all while delivering thrilling sci-fi adventures.


  • Compulsory (2023)
  • All Systems Red (2017)
  • Artificial Condition (2018)
  • Rogue Protocol (2018)
  • Exit Strategy (2018)
  • Home (2021)
  • Network Effect (2020)
  • Fugitive Telemetry (2021)
  • System Collapse (2023)


What is the Murderbot Diaries series about?

The Murderbot Diaries series follows a sentient security android, known as Murderbot, as it navigates through a galaxy full of corporate intrigue, danger, and self-discovery.

How many books are in the Murderbot Diaries series?

There are six books in the Murderbot Diaries series, starting with “All Systems Red,” followed by “Artificial Condition,” “Rogue Protocol,” “Exit Strategy,” “Network Effect,” and “Fugitive Telemetry.”

Who is the author of the Murderbot Diaries series?

The author of the Murderbot Diaries series is Martha Wells, a prolific writer known for her imaginative science fiction and fantasy works.

What makes the Murderbot Diaries series unique?

The series stands out for its compelling protagonist, Murderbot, who struggles with its identity, relationships, and autonomy in a world filled with both humans and artificial intelligence. It offers a fresh perspective on themes of agency, freedom, and belonging.


The Murderbot Diaries series takes readers on a thrilling journey through the eyes of a security robot seeking its identity and autonomy amidst human and alien conflicts. It blends action, humor, and deep character exploration to critique corporate greed and the quest for personal freedom.

For fans looking to enhance their reading experience, the On4t Online TTS tool is a great resource. This tool can read books aloud, making it perfect for enjoying the series anytime, anywhere. It’s user-friendly and accessible, ensuring that everyone can dive into the world of Murderbot with ease.

Leave a Comment