Walt Longmire Series In Order

The Walt Longmire series, created by author Craig Johnson, follows the adventures of Sheriff Walt Longmire in Absaroka County, Wyoming. With a blend of mystery, action, and Western charm, the series captivates readers with its compelling characters and rich storytelling.

In this article, we will discuss the Walt Longmire series in chronological order, offering insights into each installment and highlighting the enduring appeal of this beloved literary and television franchise.


The Walt Longmire series, written by Craig Johnson, is a popular collection of mystery novels centered around the titular character, Sheriff Walt Longmire, who solves crimes in the fictional county of Absaroka in Wyoming. The series is known for its rich characterization, vivid descriptions of the American West, and intriguing plots. Here’s a rundown of the books in order of publication:

  • “The Cold Dish” (2004): The series kicks off with Sheriff Longmire investigating when two boys convicted of assaulting a Cheyenne girl are found dead.
  • “Death Without Company” (2006): The murder of Mari Baroja, a resident of the Durant Home for Assisted Living, brings Longmire into a case that spans several decades.
  • “Kindness Goes Unpunished” (2007): Longmire travels to Philadelphia to visit his daughter and finds himself involved in a murder investigation.
  • “Another Man’s Moccasins” (2008): A Vietnamese girl is found dead along the highway, leading Longmire into a case that brings back memories of his own Vietnam War experiences.
  • “The Dark Horse” (2009): Longmire goes undercover to unravel the truth behind a woman accused of murdering her husband.
  • “Junkyard Dogs” (2010): The discovery of a body in a junkyard leads to an investigation that uncovers family secrets and land disputes.
  • “Hell Is Empty” (2011): Longmire chases a murderer into the Bighorn Mountains, where he confronts both natural and supernatural forces.
  • “As the Crow Flies” (2012): Longmire is preparing for his daughter’s wedding when he witnesses a woman falling to her death, which leads him into an investigation involving tribal lands.
  • “A Serpent’s Tooth” (2013): The sheriff deals with a polygamous sect when a young boy with ties to the group is found living outside town.
  • “Any Other Name” (2014): Longmire investigates the suicide of a detective and uncovers a dark secret that could threaten his career and life.
  • “Dry Bones” (2015): The discovery of a T-Rex skeleton stirs up a fight over its ownership, leading to a murder that Longmire must solve.
  • “The Highwayman” (2016): A novella where Longmire investigates reports of a ghostly hitchhiker haunting a stretch of highway.
  • “An Obvious Fact” (2016): In the midst of the largest motorcycle rally in the world, Longmire investigates a mysterious accident involving a young motorcyclist.
  • “The Western Star” (2017): A flashback to Longmire’s early days as a deputy and a present-day mystery involving a photograph and a long-unsolved case.
  • “Depth of Winter” (2018): Longmire goes on a rescue mission to Mexico to save his daughter from a cartel.
  • “Land of Wolves” (2019): Returning to Wyoming, Longmire finds himself in the middle of an investigation involving a shepherd’s death and a possible wolf sighting.
  • “Next to Last Stand” (2020): Longmire gets involved in the art world after the death of a veteran reveals a mystery about a missing painting related to Custer’s Last Stand.
  • “Daughter of the Morning Star” (2021): Longmire protects a high school girl who may be targeted due to her family’s history and her sister’s disappearance.
  • “Hell and Back” (2022): The latest installment at the time of my last update, delving into a complex case with elements touching on mental health and historical injustices.

This series combines elements of traditional detective fiction with the Western genre, offering readers engaging mysteries set against the backdrop of the American West’s rugged landscapes.

Complete the Walt Longmire series in order

  •  The Cold Dish (2004)
  •  Death Without Company (2006)
  •  Kindness Goes Unpunished (2007)
  •  Another Man’s Moccasins (2008)
  •  The Dark Horse (2009)
  •  Junkyard Dogs (2010)
  •  Hell Is Empty (2011)
  •  Divorce Horse (2012)
  •  As the Crow Flies (2012)
  •  Christmas in Absaroka County (2012)
  •  Messenger (2013)
  •  A Serpent’s Tooth (2013)
  •  The Spirit of Steamboat (2013)
  •  Any Other Name (2014)
  •  Wait for Signs (2014)
  •  Dry Bones (2015)
  •  The Highwayman (2016)
  •  An Obvious Fact (2016)
  •  The Western Star (2017)
  •  Depth of Winter (2018)
  •  Land of Wolves (2019)
  •  Next to Last Stand (2020)
  •  Daughter of the Morning Star (2021)
  •  Hell and Back (2022)
  •  The Longmire Defense (2023)
  •  First Frost (2024)


What is the Walt Longmire series about?

The Walt Longmire series follows the adventures of Sheriff Walt Longmire as he solves crimes in Absaroka County, Wyoming, grappling with personal and professional challenges along the way.

How many books are in the Walt Longmire series?

The series comprises 16 novels, including “The Cold Dish,” “Death Without Company,” and “An Obvious Fact,” each offering intriguing mysteries and character development.

Are there any adaptations of the Walt Longmire series?

Yes, the series inspired a popular TV show titled “Longmire,” which aired on A&E and later Netflix. It ran for six seasons, captivating audiences with its rugged setting and compelling characters.

What makes the Walt Longmire series stand out?

The series blends elements of mystery, western, and character-driven drama, offering a unique narrative experience that resonates with readers and viewers alike, fostering a dedicated fan base.


The Walt Longmire series is a captivating collection of novels that take readers on a journey through the life of a Wyoming sheriff solving mysteries with a unique blend of traditional detective work and local Native American history. Each book builds on the last, offering depth to characters and a rich setting that pulls you into Longmire’s world.

Talking about tools, the On4t Online TTS tool stands out for making reading accessible to everyone. It turns text into spoken words, which is perfect for enjoying books like the Longmire series without actually reading them. Easy to use, it brings stories to life audibly.

Leave a Comment