Lord of the Rings series in order

The “Lord of the Rings” series, penned by J.R.R. Tolkien, is a timeless fantasy saga beloved by readers and viewers worldwide. Set in the richly detailed world of Middle-earth, the series follows the epic journey of various characters as they navigate through conflicts, alliances, and battles of good versus evil.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the “Lord of the Rings” series, providing clarity for those looking to embark on this legendary adventure or revisit it in a structured manner.

Understanding the Lord of the Rings series

The “Lord of the Rings” series, written by J.R.R. Tolkien, is a classic high fantasy saga that has captured the imaginations of readers for decades. Here’s a brief overview to help you understand the series and its order:

The Main Trilogy:

  • The Fellowship of the Ring: The journey begins with the discovery of the One Ring, a powerful artifact created by the Dark Lord Sauron to dominate Middle-earth. Frodo Baggins, a young Hobbit, inherits the Ring and must embark on a perilous quest to destroy it in the fires of Mount Doom. He is joined by a fellowship of companions, including humans, a dwarf, an elf, a wizard, and other hobbits.
  • The Two Towers: The fellowship is broken, and the members are scattered across Middle-earth, facing their own battles. While Frodo and his friend Sam continue towards Mordor with the help of the mysterious Gollum, their friends engage in battles against Sauron’s forces, highlighting the growing threat of war across the land.
  • The Return of the King: The final volume culminates in the epic battle for Middle-earth. While Frodo and Sam face the ultimate challenge in Mordor, their allies fight to distract Sauron’s attention away from his true danger. The story resolves with the defeat of Sauron, the destruction of the One Ring, and the coronation of Aragorn as King of Gondor.


  • The Hobbit: Though not officially part of “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy, “The Hobbit” is a crucial precursor that introduces Middle-earth, several key characters, and the initial discovery of the One Ring. It follows the adventure of Bilbo Baggins, Frodo’s uncle, as he journeys with a group of dwarves to reclaim their homeland from the dragon Smaug.

Other Related Works:

  • The Silmarillion: This is a collection of mythopoeic stories edited and published posthumously by Tolkien’s son, Christopher. It provides a comprehensive background to the world of Middle-earth, detailing its creation, history, and the first age, setting the stage for the events in “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings.”
  • Unfinished Tales and The History of Middle-earth: These collections include various stories, drafts, and essays that expand on the lore of Middle-earth, offering deeper insights into the world and its characters.

The best way to experience the series is to start with “The Hobbit,” followed by the main “Lord of the Rings” trilogy. If you’re captivated by Tolkien’s world and wish to explore further, “The Silmarillion” and other related works will enrich your understanding of Middle-earth’s mythology, history, and languages.

Complete The Lord Of The Rings Series In Order

  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)
  • Rings of Power TV Series (2022)


What is the correct order to watch the Lord of the Rings series?

To watch in chronological order, start with “The Hobbit” trilogy, then move on to “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy: “The Fellowship of the Ring,” “The Two Towers,” and “The Return of the King.”

Are the Hobbit movies a prequel to Lord of the Rings?

Yes, “The Hobbit” movies are prequels to “The Lord of the Rings.” They depict the events leading up to the journey of the One Ring, which is central to the plot of the later trilogy.

Is it necessary to watch The Hobbit before Lord of the Rings?

It’s not strictly necessary, but watching “The Hobbit” enhances the overall experience by providing context and background to the events and characters in “The Lord of the Rings.”

Are there extended editions available for all the movies?

Yes, extended editions with additional footage and extended scenes are available for all movies in both “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings” trilogies, offering a more comprehensive viewing experience.


The Lord of the Rings series is an epic tale of adventure, friendship, and the battle between good and evil. Through rich storytelling and memorable characters, it captivates audiences with its timeless themes of courage and sacrifice. 

In addition, the On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by providing a user-friendly platform for converting text to speech. Its intuitive interface and diverse range of features make it a valuable resource for individuals seeking to access content in audio format.

Leave a Comment