Left Behind book series in order

The “Left Behind” book series is a gripping collection of Christian fiction novels written by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins. Spanning multiple volumes, this series explores themes of faith, prophecy, and the end times, captivating readers with its suspenseful storytelling and compelling characters. 

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the “Left Behind” book series, providing readers with a guide to experiencing the captivating journey of its characters amidst the unfolding events of the end times.

Understanding the Left Behind book series

The “Left Behind” series is a popular Christian fiction series that explores themes of the End Times, as described in the Bible’s Book of Revelation. Written by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins, the series focuses on the Rapture, the Tribulation, and the struggles of those left behind on Earth. Here’s a breakdown of the main series in order of publication:

  • Left Behind (1995): This is where it all begins, with the sudden disappearance of millions of people worldwide, an event that propels the world into chaos and sets the stage for the story.
  • Tribulation Force (1996): The remaining group forms the Tribulation Force to stand against the emerging Antichrist and to spread the word of God.
  • Nicolae (1997): The rise of Nicolae Carpathia, the Antichrist, marks this installment, with the Tribulation Force working against his growing power.
  • Soul Harvest (1998): Following a devastating global earthquake, the members of the Tribulation Force search for each other amidst the chaos.
  • Apollyon (1999): The series continues with the world facing a demonic locust plague, leading to more challenges for the Tribulation Force.
  • Assassins (1999): Efforts to thwart the Antichrist’s plans intensify, with dramatic attempts on his life.
  • The Indwelling (2000): This book focuses on the death and resurrection of the Antichrist, a pivotal moment in the series.
  • The Mark (2000): The Antichrist solidifies his power, introducing the mark of loyalty to him, which poses a significant dilemma for the believers.
  • Desecration (2001): The desecration of the temple in Jerusalem signals a critical turning point in the battle between good and evil.
  • The Remnant (2002): The Tribulation Force faces the wrath of the Trumpet Judgments, with a focus on the survival of the faithful remnant.
  • Armageddon (2003): The series builds toward the final battle between the forces of good and evil, set in the Middle East.
  • Glorious Appearing (2004): The return of Christ and the final defeat of the Antichrist mark the climax of the series.
  • Kingdom Come (2007): Serving as an epilogue, this book explores the Millennial Kingdom that follows the Tribulation and Armageddon, wrapping up the series’ narrative arc.

The series also includes prequels and spin-offs that delve into the backgrounds of some characters and explore other aspects of the Left Behind universe. However, the listed 13 books constitute the core storyline that has captivated millions of readers around the world.

Complete Left Behind book series in order

  • Left Behind (1995)
  • Tribulation Force (1993)
  • Nicolae (1997)
  • Soul Harvest (1998)
  • Apollyon (1999)
  • Assassins (1999)
  • The Indwelling (2000)
  • The Mark (2000)
  • The Desecration (2001)
  • The Remnant (2002)
  • Armageddon (2003)
  • Glorious Appearing (2004)
  • Kingdom Come (2007)


What is the reading order of the Left Behind book series?

The Left Behind series consists of 16 main books, starting with “Left Behind” and ending with “Kingdom Come.” It’s best to read them in chronological order to follow the storyline accurately.

Are there any companion books or spin-offs in the Left Behind series?

Yes, alongside the main series, there are additional books like “The Rising,” “The Regime,” and “The Rapture.” These spin-offs provide more depth to the characters and events in the main storyline.

Should I read the Left Behind books in order of publication or chronological order?

It’s recommended to read the books in chronological order to understand the sequence of events better. However, reading in the order of publication can also offer a unique perspective on the story’s development.

Is it necessary to read all the books in the Left Behind series?

While each book contributes to the overarching narrative, it’s not strictly necessary to read all of them. However, for a comprehensive understanding of the story and characters, reading the entire series is recommended.


The “Left Behind” book series follows the journey of those left behind after the Rapture, exploring themes of faith, redemption, and the battle between good and evil. Through gripping storytelling, it captivates readers with its unique take on biblical prophecy. 

Moreover, the On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by converting text into speech, offering a convenient solution for those with visual impairments or busy schedules.

Leave a Comment