How To Watch Jesse Stone Series In Order

The Jesse Stone series is a collection of exciting detective movies featuring Tom Selleck as the main character, Jesse Stone. These movies, based on Robert B. Parker’s novels, follow Stone’s journey as a police chief in a small town, solving crimes and battling personal demons.

In this article, we will discuss how to watch the Jesse Stone series in order. We’ll guide you through each movie, ensuring you enjoy the story as it unfolds, keeping track of Jesse Stone’s adventures from the beginning.

Understanding Jesse Stone Series

The Jesse Stone series revolves around a small-town police chief dealing with personal demons while solving crimes in the fictional town of Paradise, Massachusetts. Created by author Robert B. Parker, the series delves into themes of redemption, addiction, and justice.

Throughout the series, Jesse Stone struggles with his past as a troubled LAPD detective and battles alcoholism, which affects his relationships and decisions as a law enforcement officer. Despite his flaws, Stone is portrayed as a dedicated and intuitive detective who often goes against the grain to ensure justice is served in his community.

With its focus on character development and gritty crime-solving, the Jesse Stone series offers a compelling blend of drama and mystery, making it a beloved franchise for fans of both crime fiction and character-driven storytelling.

  • Night Passage (1997): This is the first film in the Jesse Stone series, where we are introduced to Jesse Stone, a former Los Angeles homicide detective who becomes the police chief of a small New England town. He battles personal demons while solving a murder case.
  • Trouble in Paradise (1998): In this sequel, Jesse Stone investigates the death of a teenage girl while also dealing with his own struggles, including alcoholism and a failing marriage.
  • Death In Paradise (2001): Jesse Stone faces a complex murder case involving the daughter of a prominent town citizen. He navigates through personal and professional challenges to uncover the truth.
  • Stone Cold (2003): Jesse Stone investigates a series of murders committed by a serial killer. As he delves deeper into the case, he confronts his own past and struggles with his inner demons.
  • Sea Change (2005): Chief Stone deals with a controversial case involving a domestic abuse victim and her powerful husband. Amidst personal turmoil, he fights for justice in his typically understated manner.
  • High Profile (2007): Stone investigates the murder of a teenage girl, which leads him to uncover a larger conspiracy involving influential people in the town. He faces pressure from all sides as he pursues justice.
  • Stranger in Paradise (2008): Jesse Stone faces multiple challenges as he investigates a series of murders with a connection to a past case. His determination to uncover the truth puts him in danger.
  • Night and Day (2009): Stone deals with a string of burglaries in Paradise while also grappling with his own personal issues, including his relationship with his ex-wife and his struggle with alcoholism.
  • Split Image (2010): Chief Stone investigates the murder of a young woman whose body is found in a lake. As he digs deeper, he uncovers dark secrets and must confront his own demons once again.

Complete Jesse Stone Series In Order

  • Night Passage (1997)
  • Trouble in Paradise (1998)
  • Death In Paradise (2001)
  • Stone Cold (2003)
  • Sea Change (2005)
  • High Profile (2007)
  • Stranger in Paradise (2008)
  • Night and Day (2009)
  • Split Image (2010)


What is the Jesse Stone series about?

The Jesse Stone series follows the life and cases of Jesse Stone, a former LAPD detective turned small-town police chief in Paradise, Massachusetts. Each movie typically involves Jesse dealing with crime, corruption, and personal struggles while trying to maintain order in his community.

In what order should I watch the Jesse Stone movies?

It’s best to watch the Jesse Stone movies in chronological order to follow the character development and storyline. The order goes like this: “Stone Cold,” “Night Passage,” “Death in Paradise,” “Sea Change,” “Thin Ice,” “No Remorse,” “Innocents Lost,” “Benefit of the Doubt,” “Lost in Paradise,” and “Fool Me Twice.”

Can I watch the Jesse Stone movies independently, or do I need to watch them in order?

While each movie has its own plot and can be enjoyed on its own, watching them in order provides a deeper understanding of Jesse Stone’s character development and the ongoing story arcs. Plus, you’ll catch references and connections between the films that enhance the viewing experience.

Where can I watch the Jesse Stone series?

The Jesse Stone movies are typically available for streaming on various platforms like Amazon Prime Video, iTunes, Google Play, and sometimes even on cable TV networks. You can also find DVD collections or individual movies for purchase or rent online or at your local video store.


For those seeking captivating crime dramas, watching the Jesse Stone series in order provides a thrilling experience. With its intriguing plots and compelling characters, this series offers a glimpse into the life of a dedicated police chief navigating the complexities of small-town crime.

Moreover, for individuals looking to enjoy the series in audio format, the On4t Online TTS tool offers a convenient solution. This text-to-speech tool allows users to convert written content into spoken words, making it accessible to a wider audience and enhancing the viewing experience for those who prefer audio formats.

Leave a Comment