How To Watch Will Trent Series In Order

“Will Trent” is a series that has caught the attention of many viewers, looking for their next binge-worthy watch. It’s based on a series of books by Karin Slaughter and follows the story of a special agent with a troubled past, diving into crime solving with a unique approach.

In this article, we will discuss how to watch the “Will Trent” series in order. We’ll guide you through the sequence to ensure you get the most out of the storyline and character development, making your viewing experience as enjoyable as possible.

Understanding Will Trent Series

Understanding the Will Trent series is delving into the gripping world created by author Karin Slaughter. This series follows the complex life and career of Will Trent, an Atlanta-based special agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation.

Throughout the books, readers are immersed in Will’s intricate investigations, his tumultuous personal life, and his struggles with dyslexia, which adds depth to his character.

As the series unfolds, readers witness Will’s growth, both professionally and personally, as he navigates through intense cases and confronts his own demons. Slaughter’s masterful storytelling keeps readers on the edge of their seats, with twists, turns, and revelations that constantly surprise and captivate.

Understanding the Will Trent series means embarking on a thrilling journey filled with suspense, intrigue, and unforgettable characters.

  • Triptych (2006): In the first book, we meet Will Trent, a special agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. The story revolves around a series of brutal murders that challenge Will’s skills and reveal secrets from his past. The title refers to the three perspectives from which the story is told.
  • Fractured (2008): This time, Will investigates a murder and kidnapping in Atlanta’s wealthy suburbs. The case forces him to work with detective Faith Mitchell, introducing a complex partnership that grows throughout the series. They delve into a world of privilege and secrets to solve the case.
  • Genesis (2009), also known as Undone: Will and Faith face a terrifying case involving a brutal attack on a young woman, leading them to a sadistic predator. This story intertwines with Sara Linton’s, a key character from Slaughter’s Grant County series, creating a gripping narrative.
  • Broken (2010): Will Trent travels to Sara Linton’s hometown, where a college student’s death brings them together to uncover deep-rooted corruption and sinister deeds in a seemingly peaceful town.
  • Fallen (2011): Faith Mitchell’s mother is kidnapped, pulling Will and Faith into a dangerous investigation that reveals dark family secrets and tests their loyalty to each other and the law they serve.
  • Snatched (2012): A short story where Will Trent’s skills are put to the test when a child is abducted from the Atlanta airport, leading to a frantic race against time to save her.
  • Criminal (2012): Diving deep into Will’s troubled past, this novel explores the early days of his career and how the sins of the past connect to a present case involving missing women.
  • Busted (2013): A novella that follows Will on undercover assignment to crack a drug ring, which turns more complex as he uncovers unexpected connections to his personal life.
  • Unseen (2013): Will Trent takes on a dangerous undercover role that leads him into a violent confrontation with a deadly drug cartel, challenging his relationship with Sara Linton and threatening his life.
  • The Kept Woman (2016): A murder at an abandoned construction site draws Will into a dark world of powerful adversaries, where he discovers unsettling truths about his past and the people he loves.
  • Cleaning the Gold (2019) (with Lee Child): Teaming up with Lee Child, this crossover novella features Will Trent and Jack Reacher, combining their skills to solve a case that puts both their lives at risk.
  • The Last Widow (2019): A devastating attack launches Will and Sara into a case involving domestic terrorism, leading them to uncover a plot with grave implications for national security.
  • The Silent Wife (2020): Will and Sara work together to solve a series of cold cases that suddenly turn hot, revealing disturbing secrets that hit close to home and threaten to tear them apart.
  • After That Night (2023): This novel further explores the complexities of Will and Sara’s relationship against the backdrop of a gripping case that challenges their personal and professional lives.
  • This is Why We Lied (2024): The latest installment continues the thrilling adventures of Will Trent, delving into a case that tests the boundaries of trust, loyalty, and justice, pushing Will to confront the ultimate truths about his life and work.

Complete Will Trent Series In Order

  • Triptych (2006)
  • Fractured (2008)
  • Genesis (2009)aka Undone
  • Broken (2010)
  • Fallen (2011)
    • Snatched (2012)
  • Criminal (2012)
    • Busted (2013)
  • Unseen (2013)
  • The Kept Woman (2016)
    • Cleaning the Gold (2019) (with Lee Child)
  • The Last Widow (2019)
  • The Silent Wife (2020)
  • After That Night (2023)
  • This is Why We Lied (2024)


What is the Will Trent Series about?

The Will Trent Series is a set of crime thriller novels written by author Karin Slaughter. It follows the main character, Will Trent, who is a Georgia Bureau of Investigation (GBI) agent. The series delves into Will’s investigations of complex and often gruesome crimes, while also exploring his troubled past and personal life.

In what order should I read the Will Trent books?

It’s best to read the Will Trent books in chronological order to fully understand the character development and overarching storylines. The first book in the series is “Triptych,” followed by “Fractured,” and then “Undone.” After that, continue with the rest of the books in the order of their publication.

What makes the Will Trent Series unique?

One of the standout features of the Will Trent Series is its intricate plots and well-developed characters. Karin Slaughter is known for her ability to create suspenseful narratives that keep readers on the edge of their seats. Additionally, the series often tackles dark and thought-provoking themes, adding depth to the storytelling.

Is the Will Trent Series suitable for all readers?

While the Will Trent Series is highly acclaimed within the crime thriller genre, it’s important to note that it contains mature content, including graphic violence and adult themes. As such, it may not be suitable for all readers. However, for those who enjoy gritty and suspenseful crime novels, the Will Trent Series offers a compelling and immersive reading experience.


To conclude, exploring the Michael Bennett series in order offers readers an exciting journey through gripping crime mysteries and the personal struggles of Detective Michael Bennett. With each installment, readers are drawn deeper into Bennett’s world, filled with thrilling investigations and complex characters.

Additionally, utilizing tools like the On4t Online TTS tool can enhance the reading experience for those who prefer auditory learning or need accessibility features. This tool converts text into speech, allowing readers to listen to the series while on the go or multitasking, making it more accessible and convenient for a wider audience.

Leave a Comment