Complete Conjuring Series In Order

The Conjuring series consists of a collection of supernatural horror films that have captivated audiences worldwide with their chilling tales of paranormal investigations. Led by renowned paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren, each film in the franchise delves into different cases of hauntings and demonic possessions, keeping viewers on the edge of their seats with suspenseful storytelling and spine-tingling scares.

In this article, we will discuss the order in which the films of the Conjuring series should be watched to fully immerse oneself in the spine-chilling world of the Warrens and their encounters with the supernatural.

Understanding conjuring series 

The “Conjuring” series is a popular horror film franchise that delves into the paranormal investigations of Ed and Lorraine Warren, a real-life husband-and-wife team who worked as demonologists, paranormal investigators, and authors. The series is known for its blend of supernatural horror, historical cases, and deeply atmospheric storytelling. Here’s a breakdown to help you get a better understanding of the series:

Main Films

  • The Conjuring (2013): Directed by James Wan, this film introduces audiences to Ed and Lorraine Warren as they come to assist the Perron family, who are experiencing disturbing events in their farmhouse in Rhode Island. It’s based on the Warrens’ actual case files.
  • The Conjuring 2 (2016): Also directed by James Wan, this sequel sees the Warrens traveling to Enfield, England, to help a single mother and her children who are being terrorized by malicious spirits. This film further explores the depth of Ed and Lorraine’s relationship and their commitment to helping those tormented by paranormal activity.


The success of the first two films led to the creation of several spin-offs, expanding the universe with tales of the malevolent entities the Warrens have encountered:

  • Annabelle (2014): Focuses on the origins of the possessed Annabelle doll introduced in the first “Conjuring” film. The doll becomes a significant source of terror for a young couple.
  • Annabelle: Creation (2017): Serves as a prequel to the Annabelle spin-off, detailing the doll’s creation and its first victims.
  • Annabelle Comes Home (2019): The third Annabelle film brings the doll to the Warrens’ artifact room, unleashing havoc on their home and daughter.
  • The Nun (2018): Explores the origins of the demonic nun Valak, a significant antagonist in “The Conjuring 2”. It’s set in Romania in 1952, making it one of the earliest stories in the series’ timeline.
  • The Curse of La Llorona (2019): Although more loosely connected, this film is part of the Conjuring universe. It tells the story of the Latin American legend of La Llorona, a weeping woman who haunts and captures children.
  • The Crooked Man: Mentioned in “The Conjuring 2”, this character is slated for its own spin-off, focusing on the haunting figure from a nursery rhyme that comes to life.

Themes and Reception

The “Conjuring” series is celebrated for its effective use of tension, atmosphere, and scares, rather than relying solely on gore. The films are grounded by the strong, compassionate portrayals of Ed and Lorraine Warren by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga, whose performances add a layer of emotional depth to the series. The franchise has been both a critical and commercial success, appealing to horror fans and general audiences alike.

The series has also sparked discussions on the portrayal of the supernatural, the blending of fact and fiction, and the ethical considerations of representing real-life figures and events in horror cinema. It’s become a significant part of modern horror film history, influencing other films and series in the genre.


  • The Conjuring (2013)
  • Annabelle (2014)
  • The Conjuring 2 (2016)
  • Annabelle: Creation (2017)
  • The Nun (2018)
  • The Curse of La Llorona (2019)
  • Annabelle Comes Home (2019)
  • The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)


What is the Conjuring series about?

The Conjuring series is a collection of supernatural horror films that follow the real-life investigations of paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren.

How many movies are there in the Conjuring series?

Currently, there are three main films in the Conjuring series, along with several spin-off movies such as Annabelle and The Nun.

Are the Conjuring movies based on true events?

Yes, the Conjuring movies are based on the case files of Ed and Lorraine Warren, who were renowned paranormal investigators known for their involvement in famous supernatural cases.

In what order should I watch the Conjuring series?

To watch the Conjuring series in chronological order, start with “The Nun” (2018), followed by “Annabelle: Creation” (2017), “Annabelle” (2014), “The Conjuring” (2013), “The Conjuring 2” (2016), and “The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It” (2021).


In conclusion, the Conjuring series captivates audiences with its blend of horror and suspense, keeping viewers on the edge of their seats throughout. With its chilling atmosphere and compelling storytelling, the series has carved out a niche in the horror genre, leaving a lasting impact on fans worldwide.

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool offers a convenient solution for adding stylish subtitles to videos quickly, enhancing the viewing experience for content creators and audiences alike. Its user-friendly interface and efficient functionality make it a valuable tool for anyone looking to create engaging video content.

Leave a Comment