A Court Of Thorns And Roses Series In Order

The “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series, authored by Sarah J. Maas, is a captivating blend of fantasy, romance, and adventure. Spanning multiple books, this series follows the journey of Feyre Archeron, a young huntress, as she navigates the perilous faerie realm filled with intrigue, magic, and danger.

In this article, we will discuss the correct order of the books in the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series, providing readers with a clear roadmap to enjoy this enchanting saga in the intended sequence.

Understanding A Court Of Thorns And Roses Series

“A Court of Thorns and Roses” (ACOTAR) series, written by Sarah J. Maas, is a highly popular fantasy series that blends elements of romance, action, and adventure within a richly built world. Here’s a breakdown to help you understand the series better:


The series starts with the story of Feyre Archeron, a young huntress who finds her life intertwined with the creatures of the faerie lands she’s grown up fearing. After unknowingly killing a faerie wolf in the woods, she’s dragged to a magical land for retribution. The series explores themes of love, loyalty, sacrifice, and the journey towards personal growth and healing.


The story is set in a divided world: the mortal lands and the faerie realms, each with its own societies, politics, and conflicts. The faerie realms are further divided into courts, each with distinct characteristics and rulers. The primary courts include the Spring Court, where much of the first book is set, and later books explore the Night Court, known for its intrigue and powerful leaders.


  • Feyre Archeron: The protagonist, whose journey from a struggling human to a powerful figure in the faerie world forms the series’ backbone.
  • Tamlin: The High Lord of the Spring Court, initially Feyre’s love interest.
  • Rhysand (Rhys): The enigmatic and powerful High Lord of the Night Court, who becomes a central figure as the series progresses.
  • Other key characters include Feyre’s family members and a diverse cast from various courts, each contributing to the series’ depth and complexity.


ACOTAR series delves into several profound themes:

  • Freedom and Sacrifice: Characters often face choices between their freedom and sacrifices for others’ well-being.
  • Power and Responsibility: The series explores the burdens of power and the responsibilities that come with leadership.
  • Love and Loyalty: At its heart, ACOTAR is a story about the power of love and the complexities of loyalty in both familial and romantic relationships.
  • Identity and Growth: Characters undergo significant personal growth, questioning their identities and beliefs.

Books in the Series

The series contains multiple books, starting with “A Court of Thorns and Roses,” followed by “A Court of Mist and Fury,” “A Court of Wings and Ruin,” and others that continue the story while expanding on the universe and characters. There are also novellas that delve into the backstories and side plots of the world.

Why It’s Loved

Fans appreciate the ACOTAR series for its emotional depth, complex characters, and the immersive world-building. Sarah J. Maas has created a series where romance intertwines with high stakes, making for a compelling read that explores both the darkness and light of its world.


While beloved, the series has faced criticism for certain portrayals of relationships, character development, and pacing. Some readers find aspects of the relationships problematic or critique the handling of sensitive themes.

Despite any criticism, “A Court of Thorns and Roses” remains a landmark series in modern fantasy, captivating readers with its intricate storytelling and emotional depth. Whether you’re drawn to its romantic elements, the political intrigue, or the magical setting, ACOTAR offers a richly detailed universe that’s hard to forget.

Complete A Court Of Thorns And Roses Series In Order

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses (2015)
  • A Court of Mist and Fury (2016)
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin (2017)
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight (2018)
  • A Court of Silver Flames (2021)


What is the reading order for the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series?

The reading order for the series is:
A Court of Thorns and Roses
A Court of Mist and Fury
A Court of Wings and Ruin
A Court of Frost and Starlight
A Court of Silver Flames

Are there any novellas or additional books in the series?

Yes, “A Court of Frost and Starlight” serves as a novella bridging the gap between the original trilogy and the spin-off series.

What genre does the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series belong to?

The series is primarily categorized as young adult fantasy, featuring elements of romance, magic, adventure, and intrigue.

Can the books be read as standalone novels or is it necessary to read them in order?

While each book has its own storyline, it’s recommended to read them in order to fully understand the characters, their relationships, and the overarching plot.


The “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series takes readers on a thrilling journey through a world of magic, love, and adventure. The books follow Feyre’s transformation from a mere mortal to a powerful force in a land filled with faeries and ancient curses. 

Talking about tools that bring stories to life, the On4t Online TTS (Text-to-Speech) tool stands out for making content accessible. It’s great for anyone who enjoys listening to books or needs a hands-free way to consume information. 

Leave a Comment