All Dragon Ball Series In Order

Interested in diving into the expansive world of Dragon Ball? Look no further! Here, we’ll explore the chronological order of the Dragon Ball series, guiding you through the epic saga of Goku and his friends as they embark on thrilling adventures and face formidable foes.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the entire Dragon Ball series, providing insights into each installment’s unique contributions to the overarching narrative. Get ready to embark on a journey filled with intense battles, heartfelt moments, and the enduring spirit of friendship and perseverance that defines the Dragon Ball universe.

Understanding All Dragon Ball Series

“Dragon Ball” is a sprawling media franchise that has captivated audiences around the world for decades. It all started with the original manga written and illustrated by Akira Toriyama, which was serialized from 1984 to 1995. The story has since expanded into various anime series, movies, and games. Here’s a simplified overview to help you get a grasp of the “Dragon Ball” universe:

Dragon Ball (1986-1989)

  • What It Covers: The early adventures of Goku from his childhood through adolescence as he trains in martial arts and explores the world in search of the seven orbs known as Dragon Balls. The series is notable for its mix of humor, action-packed martial arts, and fantasy elements.
  • Key Points: Introduction of major characters like Bulma, Master Roshi, Yamcha, and Piccolo.

Dragon Ball Z (1989-1996)

  • What It Covers: Continues Goku’s adventures as an adult, focusing more on intense battles, power-ups, and the exploration of the Saiyan heritage. It introduces the concept of Super Saiyans and features iconic arcs like the Frieza, Cell, and Majin Buu sagas.
  • Key Points: Shifts towards more serious, battle-focused storytelling. Introduces characters like Vegeta, Trunks, and Gohan’s growth as a warrior.

Dragon Ball GT (1996-1997)

  • What It Covers: Considered non-canon by many fans as it wasn’t based on Toriyama’s manga. The story follows Goku, who is turned back into a child, as he travels the galaxy searching for the Black Star Dragon Balls.
  • Key Points: Features the Super Saiyan 4 transformation and introduces new characters like Pan (Goku’s granddaughter) and villains like Baby, Super 17, and the Shadow Dragons.

Dragon Ball Super (2015-2018)

  • What It Covers: A direct sequel to Dragon Ball Z that ignores GT’s storyline. It explores the concept of multiple universes and introduces the God of Destruction, Beerus, and his attendant Whis. The series covers several arcs, including the Battle of Gods, Resurrection ‘F’, Universe 6, Goku Black, and the Tournament of Power.
  • Key Points: Introduces Super Saiyan God and Super Saiyan Blue transformations, as well as Ultra Instinct. Focuses on themes of universal survival and the exploration of new powers.

Dragon Ball Heroes (2018-present)

  • What It Covers: A promotional anime for the card and video games. It’s not part of the main storyline and features alternate universes and fan-servicey scenarios involving many characters from the series’ history.
  • Key Points: Known for its non-canon, experimental storylines that blend characters and elements from different series periods.

Movies and OVAs

The “Dragon Ball” franchise also includes a significant number of movies and original video animations (OVAs) that range from storylines fitting into the continuity of the series to standalone side stories. Notable films include “Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods” and “Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection ‘F'”, which were later adapted into story arcs for “Dragon Ball Super”.


The core of the “Dragon Ball” series is the manga, which has continued beyond the original run with “Dragon Ball Super”, serialized in “V Jump” magazine since 2015. This continuation is considered canon and follows the events of the “Dragon Ball Z” anime, offering new stories under the guidance of Akira Toriyama.

Complete All Dragon Ball Series In Order

  • Dragon Ball
  • Dragon Ball Z
  • Dragon Ball Z Kai
  • Dragon Ball GT
  • Dragon Ball Super
  • Super Dragon Ball Heroes
  • Dragon Ball Movies & Specials


What is the Dragon Ball series about?

The Dragon Ball series follows the adventures of Goku and his friends as they search for powerful Dragon Balls to summon a wish-granting dragon. Along the way, they face formidable foes and embark on epic battles to protect the Earth.

How many seasons are there in the Dragon Ball series?

The Dragon Ball series consists of several arcs spanning across multiple seasons. It includes Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, and Dragon Ball Super, each contributing to the overall storyline and character development.

Who is the creator of the Dragon Ball series?

Akira Toriyama is the mastermind behind the Dragon Ball series. His creative vision and unique storytelling have captivated audiences worldwide, making Dragon Ball one of the most iconic and beloved anime franchises of all time.

What is the significance of the Dragon Balls in the series?

The Dragon Balls hold immense power, capable of summoning Shenron, the eternal dragon, who can grant any wish within his power. This aspect drives the characters’ quests and serves as a central plot device throughout the series, fueling both drama and adventure.


Wrapping up, the Dragon Ball series has been a thrilling ride from its early days to the latest adventures. It’s a mix of intense battles, deep friendships, and epic quests that have captured fans’ hearts worldwide. 

Talking about tools, the On4t Online TTS tool stands out for making digital content more accessible. It’s easy to use and helps turn text into spoken words, making information reachable for everyone, including those who prefer audio over text. 

Leave a Comment