The Fast and the Furious series in order

The Fast and the Furious series is a beloved franchise known for its high-octane action, thrilling car races, and memorable characters. Spanning multiple films, it has captivated audiences worldwide with its adrenaline-pumping adventures and intricate storylines revolving around the underground world of street racing and crime.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of The Fast and the Furious series, providing fans with a clear understanding of how each film fits into the overarching narrative.

Understanding The Fast and the Furious series in order

“The Fast and the Furious” series is a high-octane franchise known for its action-packed scenes, fast cars, and tight-knit family themes. Here’s a quick guide to understanding the series in order:

  • The Fast and the Furious (2001): This is where it all begins. Brian O’Conner, an undercover cop, infiltrates the Los Angeles street racing scene to bust a hijacking ring led by Dominic Toretto.
  • 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003): Brian, now a fugitive, heads to Miami and teams up with childhood friend Roman Pearce to bring down a drug lord for the FBI in exchange for their records being cleared.
  • The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006): This third installment diverts from the main cast to follow Sean Boswell, a teenager who moves to Tokyo to avoid jail time in America and gets involved in the world of drift racing. Chronologically, this movie takes place after the sixth film, “Fast & Furious 6.”
  • Fast & Furious (2009): The original crew reunites to take down a drug lord. It’s a turning point for the franchise, focusing more on heist and espionage elements.
  • Fast Five (2011): The team is on the run following the events of the fourth movie. They plan a heist in Rio de Janeiro to gain their freedom while being pursued by federal agent Luke Hobbs.
  • Fast & Furious 6 (2013): The crew is recruited by Hobbs to take down a mercenary organization in exchange for amnesty, which leads them back to Los Angeles.
  • Furious 7 (2015): Following the events of “Tokyo Drift,” the team faces revenge from Owen Shaw’s brother, Deckard Shaw. It’s notable for its heartfelt tribute to Paul Walker (Brian O’Conner), who passed away before filming was completed.
  • The Fate of the Furious (2017): Dom is blackmailed by a cyberterrorist, Cipher, into betraying his team. The crew must face their leader and friend to bring him back home and stop Cipher.
  • Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw (2019): This spin-off focuses on Luke Hobbs and Deckard Shaw, putting aside their differences to stop a genetically enhanced terrorist.
  • F9: The Fast Saga (2021): Dom’s past comes back to haunt him as his estranged brother, Jakob, seeks revenge. The crew embarks on a global adventure that tests their limits and family ties.

The series is known for escalating its action sequences and deepening its character relationships with each installment. It blends themes of loyalty, family, and redemption with high-speed chases and spectacular stunts, making it a blockbuster franchise beloved by fans around the world.

Complete The Fast and the Furious series

1. The Fast and the Furious (2001)

2. The Turbo Charged Prelude for 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003)

3. 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003)

4. Los Bandoleros (2009)

5. Fast & Furious (2009)

6. Fast Five (2011)

7. Fast & Furious 6 (2013)

8. The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006)

9. Furious 7 (2015)

10. The Fate of the Furious (2017)

11. Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs and Shaw (2019)

12. F9 (2021)

13. Fast X (2023)


What is the Fast and the Furious franchise about?

The Fast and the Furious franchise is a series of action-packed films centered around street racing, heists, and espionage. It follows the adventures of Dominic Toretto and his crew as they navigate through adrenaline-fueled escapades.

How many movies are in the Fast and the Furious franchise?

As of now, there are ten mainline films in the Fast and the Furious franchise, along with spin-offs. These movies have captivated audiences worldwide with their high-octane action sequences and compelling characters.

Who are the main characters in the Fast and the Furious series?

The main characters include Dominic Toretto, Brian O’Conner, Letty Ortiz, Mia Toretto, Roman Pearce, and Deckard Shaw, among others. These characters form the core of the franchise and drive its narratives forward.

What is the viewing order for the Fast and the Furious movies?

While the viewing order may vary, starting with “The Fast and the Furious” (2001) is a good entry point, followed by sequels and spin-offs in chronological order. However, fans often debate the optimal sequence, adding to the franchise’s intrigue.


The Fast and the Furious series follows the thrilling adventures of Dominic Toretto and his crew through high-stakes heists and intense car races. Starting with the original film, the series has captivated audiences with its action-packed scenes and memorable characters. 

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool revolutionizes the way users add subtitles to videos with its user-friendly interface and efficient functionality. By simplifying the process, it empowers creators to enhance their videos with stylish subtitles quickly and easily, contributing to the overall accessibility and appeal of their content.

Leave a Comment