Complete Outlander Series In Order

The “Outlander” series, created by author Diana Gabaldon, is a captivating blend of historical fiction, romance, and adventure. Set against the backdrop of Scotland, the story follows Claire Randall, a World War II nurse who mysteriously travels back in time to the 18th century. 

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the “Outlander” series, providing readers with a clear roadmap to navigate the intricate storyline and follow Claire’s journey through time.

Understanding the Outlander Series In Order

The “Outlander” series, written by Diana Gabaldon, is a mix of historical fiction, romance, adventure, and science fiction. It follows the story of Claire Randall, a former British Army nurse who, while on a second honeymoon in Scotland, finds herself transported from 1946 to 1743.

The series is known for its detailed historical settings, complex characters, and intricate plot lines. Here’s a look at the main books in the series in order:

  • “Outlander” (1991): The story begins with Claire’s accidental time travel to 18th-century Scotland, where she meets the gallant Jamie Fraser.
  • “Dragonfly in Amber” (1992): The second book continues Claire and Jamie’s story, including political intrigue in France, as they try to prevent the Jacobite rising.
  • “Voyager” (1993): Claire discovers Jamie survived the Battle of Culloden and travels back in time again to reunite with him, leading to adventures on the high seas.
  • “Drums of Autumn” (1996): Claire and Jamie try to make a new life in the American colonies, facing new challenges and opportunities.
  • “The Fiery Cross” (2001): The Fraser family navigates life in the build-up to the American Revolution, dealing with personal and political turmoil.
  • “A Breath of Snow and Ashes” (2005): As the Revolution looms closer, Fraser’s loyalties are tested, and they face threats from all sides.
  • “An Echo in the Bone” (2009): The story spans continents and timelines, featuring battles of the American Revolution and personal dramas across generations.
  • “Written in My Own Heart’s Blood” (2014): The American Revolution continues, and the Fraser and MacKenzie families encounter new dangers, mysteries, and adventures.
  • “Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone” (2021): The most recent installment further explores the lives of the Fraser family during the American Revolution, deepening the saga’s historical and emotional depth.

In addition to the main novels, the series includes several novellas and companion books that expand on the stories of secondary characters or offer additional insights into the main narrative.

Reading the series in order allows readers to fully experience the development of characters and the unfolding of the historical backdrop against which their stories are set. Gabaldon has mentioned plans for a tenth book, so the series is expected to continue.

Complete Outlander Series In Order

  • Outlander
  • Dragonfly In Amber
  • Voyager
  • Drums Of Autumn
  • The Fiery Cross
  • A Breath Of Snow And Ashes
  • An Echo In The Bone
  • Written In My Own Heart’s Blood
  • Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone


What is the Outlander series about?

The Outlander series is a blend of historical fiction, romance, and adventure, following Claire Randall, a WWII nurse who time-travels to 18th-century Scotland. There, she becomes entangled in the Jacobite risings and finds love with Jamie Fraser.

How many books are in the Outlander series?

As of now, there are eight main novels in the Outlander series, written by Diana Gabaldon. Additionally, several novellas and companion books provide further depth to the storyline and characters.

Are there TV adaptations of the Outlander series?

Yes, the Outlander series has been adapted into a successful television series by the Starz network. It closely follows the events of the books and has garnered a large and dedicated fan base worldwide.

What makes the Outlander series popular?

The series’ popularity stems from its compelling blend of genres, intricate historical detail, and well-developed characters. Fans are drawn to its captivating storytelling, passionate romance, and immersive depiction of different periods.


To wrap up, the Outlander series follows the journey of Claire Randall, a nurse from 1945 who mysteriously travels back in time to 1743 Scotland, where she encounters adventure and romance.

In addition, the On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by converting text to speech, benefiting users with visual impairments or those who prefer auditory content. With its easy-to-use interface and customizable features, On4t facilitates the seamless conversion of written text into spoken words, expanding accessibility in the digital realm.

Leave a Comment