Complete Longmire series in order

Longmire series in order refers to the sequence of episodes and seasons of the popular American television show “Longmire.” This crime drama series, based on the “Walt Longmire Mysteries” novels by Craig Johnson, follows the life of Sheriff Walt Longmire as he solves crimes in Absaroka County, Wyoming. The show garnered a dedicated fanbase for its compelling characters, intricate plots, and stunning Wyoming landscapes.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the Longmire series, providing a guide for viewers who wish to watch the show in the correct sequence to fully appreciate its storyline and character development.

Understanding Longmire series

“Longmire” is a modern Western crime drama television series that first aired in 2012. It’s based on the “Walt Longmire Mysteries” series of novels by best-selling author Craig Johnson. The show combines elements of classic Westerns with contemporary crime solving, set against the backdrop of the fictional Absaroka County in Wyoming. Walt Longmire, the title character, is the dedicated and unflappable sheriff of the county, portrayed by Australian actor Robert Taylor.

Here’s a closer look at the series:

Characters and Setting

  • Walt Longmire: The stoic, recently widowed sheriff who returns to work determined to move forward with his life. Walt has a deep connection to the land and its people, including the local Cheyenne reservation.
  • Victoria “Vic” Moretti: Played by Katee Sackhoff, she is a transplanted Philadelphia homicide detective who becomes one of Walt’s deputies, offering a sharp contrast to Walt with her fiery, upfront demeanor.
  • Henry Standing Bear: Lou Diamond Phillips plays Walt’s best friend, a Cheyenne bar owner who provides deep cultural insight and wisdom, often assisting in cases.
  • Other characters include Deputy Branch Connally, who has his sights on Walt’s job; Cady Longmire, Walt’s lawyer daughter; and The Ferg, another deputy with loyalty to Walt.

Themes and Style

“Longmire” is much more than a simple procedural. It explores themes of redemption, loss, cultural clashes, and the rugged individualism of the West. The show is known for its slow-paced storytelling, rich character development, and beautiful, expansive visuals of the Western landscape. It also addresses issues facing Native American communities, adding a layer of social commentary.

Plot and Development

Each episode often features a standalone case, with overarching narratives woven throughout the seasons. Walt deals with personal demons, including the mysterious circumstances surrounding his wife’s death, political machinations within the county, and tensions with the nearby Cheyenne reservation.

Reception and Legacy

“Longmire” received critical acclaim for its storytelling, character depth, and respectful portrayal of Native American culture. Despite being canceled by A&E after three seasons due to demographic targeting rather than viewership numbers, it found a new home on Netflix, where it continued for three more seasons, concluding after its sixth season in 2017.

The series appealed to fans of traditional Westerns as well as those looking for a modern take on the genre, earning a dedicated fan base. Its mix of crime, drama, and Western elements, along with strong performances, particularly by Taylor and Phillips, helped “Longmire” carve out a unique niche in the television landscape.

Complete Longmire series in order

  • The Cold Dish (2004)
  • Death Without Company (2006)
  • Kindness Goes Unpunished (2007)
  • Another Man’s Moccasins (2008)
  • The Dark Horse (2009)
  • Junkyard Dogs (2010)
  • Hell Is Empty (2011)
  • Divorce Horse (2012)
  • As the Crow Flies (2012)
  • Christmas in Absaroka County (2012)
  • Messenger (2013)
  • A Serpent’s Tooth (2013)
  • The Spirit of Steamboat (2013)
  • Any Other Name (2014)
  • Wait for Signs (2014)
  • Dry Bones (2015)
  • The Highwayman (2016)
  • An Obvious Fact (2016)
  • The Western Star (2017)
  • Depth of Winter (2018)
  • Land of Wolves (2019)
  • Next to Last Stand (2020)
  • Daughter of the Morning Star (2021)
  • Hell and Back (2022)
  • The Longmire Defense (2023)
  • First Frost (2024)
  • Tooth and Claw (2024)


What is Longmire about?

“Longmire” is a crime drama series based on the Walt Longmire mystery novels by Craig Johnson. Set in Wyoming, it follows Sheriff Walt Longmire as he solves crimes while navigating personal and professional challenges.

How many seasons of Longmire are there?

The series ran for six seasons, airing from 2012 to 2017. It consists of a total of 63 episodes, each approximately 45 minutes long, providing a comprehensive storyline for fans to enjoy.

Is Longmire based on true events?

While “Longmire” is inspired by the Walt Longmire book series, it is not based on specific true events. However, the show incorporates elements of the real-life challenges faced by law enforcement officers in rural areas.

Where can I watch Longmire?

“Longmire” is available for streaming on platforms like Netflix, where all six seasons are accessible to subscribers. Additionally, it may be available for purchase or rental on various digital platforms for those without a Netflix subscription.


In the captivating Longmire series, the intertwining of mystery, justice, and character depth keeps viewers engaged. The portrayal of rugged landscapes and complex relationships adds depth to the narrative, making it a favorite among fans of crime dramas.

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool revolutionizes accessibility by offering a simple yet powerful solution for generating stylish subtitles quickly. Its user-friendly interface and efficient processing make it a valuable asset for content creators seeking to enhance their videos with engaging subtitles.

Leave a Comment