Complete Lincoln Lawyer series in order

The Lincoln Lawyer series, penned by bestselling author Michael Connelly, follows the gripping legal adventures of defense attorney Mickey Haller as he navigates the complexities of the criminal justice system in Los Angeles. With sharp wit and relentless determination, Haller defends his clients with fervor, often uncovering shocking truths along the way.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the Lincoln Lawyer series, providing readers with a clear roadmap to delve into Haller’s compelling world of courtroom drama and legal intrigue.

Understanding Lincoln Lawyer series

“The Lincoln Lawyer” series refers to a collection of legal thriller novels written by Michael Connelly, centered around the character Mickey Haller, a defense attorney based in Los Angeles. Mickey Haller is not your typical lawyer; he operates out of the back of a Lincoln Town Car (hence the name “Lincoln Lawyer”), driven by a former client working off his legal fees. This unconventional setup reflects Haller’s street-smart approach to law, where he often takes on cases other lawyers might avoid.

Key Themes and Features:

  • Legal Intricacies: The series dives deep into the complexities of the American legal system, presenting a realistic view of the challenges and intricacies of criminal defense work.
  • Character Development: Mickey Haller is a deeply nuanced character, battling personal demons, ethical dilemmas, and the pressures of his high-stakes profession. Over the series, we see significant character growth and exploration of his personal life, including his relationships with his ex-wives and his daughter.
  • Thrilling Plots: Each book in the series offers a gripping, fast-paced plot involving criminal cases that Haller takes on. Connelly masterfully combines legal procedures with suspenseful storytelling, keeping readers on the edge of their seats.
  • Moral Questions: The series frequently explores moral and ethical questions, particularly around the defense of guilty clients, the concept of legal justice versus moral righteousness, and the personal cost of practicing law.

Books in the Series:

The series began with “The Lincoln Lawyer” (2005), which introduces Mickey Haller. Following its success, Connelly wrote several sequels, including “The Brass Verdict” (2008), “The Reversal” (2010), “The Fifth Witness” (2011), “The Gods of Guilt” (2013), and “The Law of Innocence” (2020). These novels have been praised for their realism, character depth, and engaging storylines.


  • Film: In 2011, “The Lincoln Lawyer” was adapted into a film starring Matthew McConaughey as Mickey Haller, which received positive reviews for its faithful adaptation and McConaughey’s performance.
  • TV Series: More recently, Netflix released a television series adaptation of “The Lincoln Lawyer,” bringing Mickey Haller’s character and his legal adventures to a new audience. The series has been well-received for its engaging plots and character development.

The “Lincoln Lawyer” series offers a compelling look at the life of a defense attorney who navigates the gray areas of law with a unique blend of cunning, charm, and a relentless pursuit of justice. Whether you’re a fan of legal dramas, thrillers, or character-driven stories, there’s something in this series for you.

Complete Lincoln Lawyer series in order

  • The Lincoln Lawyer
  • The Brass Verdict
  • The Reversal
  • The Fifth Witness
  • The Gods of Guilt (2013)
  • The Crossing (2015)
  • The Law of Innocence (2020)
  • Resurrection Walk


What is the Lincoln Lawyer series about?

The Lincoln Lawyer series follows the legal exploits of defense attorney Mickey Haller as he navigates the criminal justice system in Los Angeles.

Who is the author of the Lincoln Lawyer series?

The Lincoln Lawyer series is penned by bestselling author Michael Connelly, known for his gripping crime novels and compelling characters.

How many books are in the Lincoln Lawyer series?

As of now, there are six books in the Lincoln Lawyer series, with each installment offering thrilling legal dramas and complex cases.

What is the reading order for the Lincoln Lawyer series?

The Lincoln Lawyer series should be read in order of publication, starting with “The Lincoln Lawyer,” followed by “The Brass Verdict,” “The Reversal,” “The Fifth Witness,” “The Gods of Guilt,” and “The Law of Innocence.”


In the Lincoln Lawyer series, Michael Connelly crafts a gripping narrative of legal intrigue, woven around the character of defense attorney Mickey Haller. Through Haller’s complex cases and moral dilemmas, Connelly explores themes of justice, ethics, and the human condition.

The On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by providing text-to-speech conversion, offering a valuable resource for individuals with visual impairments or learning disabilities. Its seamless integration empowers users to engage with digital content effortlessly, embodying the spirit of inclusion and technological advancement.

Leave a Comment