Kim Harrison Hollows Series In Order

Are you looking to dive into the captivating world of the Hollows Series by Kim Harrison? This renowned series follows the thrilling adventures of Rachel Morgan, a witch-turned-bounty hunter, as she navigates a world filled with supernatural beings, magic, and danger. 

In this article, we will discuss the optimal reading order for the Hollows Series by Kim Harrison. Whether you’re a newcomer eager to embark on Rachel Morgan’s journey or a seasoned fan revisiting the series, we’ll guide you through the best way to experience this spellbinding urban fantasy saga.

Understanding Kim Harrison Hollows Series

The Hollows series by Kim Harrison is a popular urban fantasy collection that dives deep into a world filled with witches, vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural beings. Set in Cincinnati, the series is known for its complex characters, intricate plots, and a well-developed magical universe. Here’s a brief overview to help you understand the gist of the series:

Setting and Premise

The series is set in an alternate reality where a significant portion of the world’s human population has been wiped out by a genetically modified tomato, leading to the exposure of various supernatural species that had been living in secrecy. These species, collectively known as “Inderlanders,” now live openly alongside the remaining human population.

Main Characters

  • Rachel Morgan: The protagonist, a witch who is strong, independent, and often finds herself in trouble. She starts off working for the Inderland Security (IS) but soon branches out on her own as a private investigator and bounty hunter.
  • Ivy Tamwood: A living vampire and Rachel’s roommate and partner. Their relationship is complex, marked by issues of dependency, loyalty, and personal boundaries.
  • Jenks: A pixy who is Rachel and Ivy’s partner in their freelance bounty hunting business. Jenks provides comic relief but is also a fierce fighter and a loyal friend. His large family and the dynamics within offer a deeper look into pixy culture.

Themes and Elements

  • Magic and Society: The series explores how the existence of magic and supernatural beings affects societal norms, politics, and personal relationships. It delves into the prejudices between different species, the laws governing magic use, and the integration of supernatural elements into everyday life.
  • Personal Growth and Identity: Across the books, Rachel’s journey is one of self-discovery, power, and accepting her own strengths and weaknesses. Her relationships with Ivy, Jenks, and other characters are central to her development and the series’ exploration of themes like trust, betrayal, and the nature of family.
  • Crime and Mystery: Each book typically involves a central mystery or challenge that Rachel must solve, often putting her in conflict with powerful supernatural entities. The series combines elements of detective fiction with the urban fantasy genre, making for thrilling and engaging plots.

Reception and Impact

The Hollows series has been well-received for its creative world-building, dynamic characters, and the way it blends humor with darker themes. Kim Harrison has been praised for her ability to create a universe that feels vast and lived-in, with its own history, culture, and rules.


The Hollows series is a must-read for fans of urban fantasy. With its mix of action, humor, and emotional depth, it offers something for a wide range of readers. Rachel Morgan’s adventures provide not just escapism but also thoughtful commentary on society, making the series both entertaining and meaningful.

Complete Kim Harrison Hollows Series In Order

  • The Turn (2017)
  • Dead Witch Walking (2004)
  • The Good, the Bad, and the Undead (2005)
  • Every Which Way But Dead (2005)
  • A Fistful of Charms (2006)
  • For a Few Demons More (2007)
  • Where Demons Dare (2008) aka The Outlaw Demon Wails
  • White Witch, Black Curse (2009)
  • Black Magic Sanction (2010)
  • Pale Demon (2011)
  • A Perfect Blood (2012)
  • Ever After (2013)
  • The Undead Pool (2014)
  • The Witch With No Name (2014)
  • American Demon (2020)
  • Million Dollar Demon (2021)
  • Trouble with the Cursed (2022)
  • Demons of Good and Evil (2023)
  • Demon’s Bluff (2024)


What is the reading order for the Kim Harrison Hollows Series?

The reading order for the Hollows series by Kim Harrison begins with “Dead Witch Walking,” followed by “The Good, the Bad, and the Undead,” “Every Which Way But Dead,” and so on. You can find the complete chronological order online or in the series’ official website.

Are there any spin-off novels or related works in the Hollows universe?

Yes, Kim Harrison has written several spin-off novels and related works set in the Hollows universe. Some notable ones include “The Hollows Insider,” a guidebook to the series, and “Sudden Backtrack,” a novella featuring characters from the main series.

How many books are in the Kim Harrison Hollows Series?

As of now, there are 13 main novels in the Hollows series, along with several short stories and novellas. However, it’s always a good idea to check for any new releases or additions to the series since authors sometimes continue to expand their fictional worlds.

Can I start reading the Kim Harrison Hollows Series from any book?

While each book in the series can be enjoyed on its own to some extent, it’s generally recommended to start with the first book, “Dead Witch Walking,” to fully understand the characters, world-building, and ongoing story arcs. Starting from the beginning will enhance your overall reading experience.


The Kim Harrison Hollows series follows Rachel Morgan, a witch-turned-private investigator, through a captivating urban fantasy world filled with magic, mystery, and supernatural beings. The series offers a thrilling ride with its intricate plot and well-developed characters, keeping readers hooked from book to book.

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool provides a convenient solution for adding stylish subtitles to videos quickly. Its user-friendly interface and efficient functionality make it a valuable asset for content creators looking to enhance their videos with engaging subtitles.

Leave a Comment