Jd Robb Series In Order

Looking for the J.D. Robb series in order? If you’re a fan of gripping crime fiction with a touch of romance, you’re in the right place. J.D. Robb, also known as Nora Roberts, has crafted a captivating series featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her adventures in a futuristic New York City.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the J.D. Robb series, ensuring you can immerse yourself in Eve Dallas’s world from the very beginning. Whether you’re a seasoned reader or new to the series, knowing the order of the books will enhance your reading experience. Let’s dive in!

Understanding Jd Robb Series

The “In Death” series by J.D. Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) is a captivating blend of science fiction, crime, romance, and mystery. It’s set in a futuristic New York City and kicks off in the mid-21st century. Here’s a quick rundown to get you up to speed:

Main Characters

  • Lieutenant Eve Dallas: The series’ protagonist, a tough and dedicated homicide detective with a troubled past.
  • Roarke: Eve’s enigmatic and wealthy husband, with a murky background. He’s a former criminal who now uses his considerable skills and resources to aid Eve in her investigations.
  • Delia Peabody: Eve’s partner, who starts as an aide but works her way up to become a detective. She provides a softer counterpoint to Eve’s intensity.
  • Ian McNab and Charlotte Mira: Other recurring characters include the flamboyant E-Detective Ian McNab and the compassionate, wise Dr. Charlotte Mira, the NYPSD’s profiler.

Themes and Setting

  • The series is noted for its vivid portrayal of the future, including advanced technology like flying cars, AutoChefs (automated cooking appliances), and highly sophisticated forensic tools. Despite these advancements, the core of the series focuses on human nature, the moral dilemmas of justice, and the psychology of crime.
  • Themes of love, friendship, and resilience run deep, with Eve’s relationships providing a counterbalance to the often-dark content of her cases.

Plot and Structure

  • Each book typically revolves around a murder investigation. While the series follows a procedural format, the personal growth of the characters and their relationships offer a continuous thread that develops throughout the series.
  • The crimes themselves are often complex, involving futuristic twists on current issues, which Eve and her team must navigate with a combination of old-school detective work and high-tech tools.

Writing Style

  • J.D. Robb’s writing is fast-paced and engaging, with a focus on character development and plot. The dialogue is often sharp and witty, and the storytelling weaves through intense action and tender moments with ease.

Why Read the Series?

  • Character Depth: Readers get deeply invested in the characters, who are well-developed and grow significantly over the series.
  • Futuristic Setting: The blend of mystery and sci-fi is intriguing, offering a unique take on the crime genre.
  • Engaging Plots: Each book manages to keep the reader guessing with twisty plots and engaging mysteries.
  • Emotional Resonance: Beyond the crimes, the series delves into themes of trauma, healing, and the power of love and friendship.

Starting Point

  • The first book, “Naked in Death,” is where it all begins, introducing Eve Dallas, Roarke, and the futuristic world they inhabit. It’s generally recommended to start here to fully appreciate the character development and overarching storylines.

Series Length

  • As of my last update, the series comprises 50+ books and continues to grow. While this might seem daunting, many readers find the series addictive and enjoy watching the characters evolve over time.

The “In Death” series is a substantial commitment but offers a richly detailed world with compelling stories and characters that many find deeply satisfying. Whether you’re drawn to crime dramas, enjoy futuristic settings, or are a fan of character-driven narratives, there’s something in this series for you.

Complete Jd Robb Series In Order

  • Naked in Death (1995)
  • Glory in Death (1995)
  • Immortal in Death (1996)
  • Rapture in Death (1996)
  • Ceremony In Death (1997)
  • Vengeance in Death (1997)
  • Holiday in Death (1998)
  • Midnight in Death (1998)
  • Conspiracy in Death (1999)
  • Loyalty in Death (1999)
  • Witness in Death (2000)
  • Judgement in Death (2000)
  • Betrayal in Death (2001)
  • Interlude in Death (2001)
  • Seduction in Death (2001)
  • Reunion In Death (2002)
  • Purity in Death (2002)
  • Portrait in Death (2003)
  • Imitation in Death (2003)
  • Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
  • Big Jack (2010)
  • Divided in Death (2004)
  • Visions in Death (2004)
  • Survivor in Death (2005)
  • Origin in Death (2005)
  • Memory in Death (2006)
  • Haunted in Death (2006)
  • Born in Death (2006)
  • Innocent in Death (2006)
  • Eternity in Death (2007)
  • Creation in Death (2007)
  • Strangers in Death (2008)
  • Salvation In Death (2008)
  • Ritual in Death (2008)
  • Promises in Death (2009)
  • Kindred in Death (2009)
  • Missing In Death (2009)
  • Fantasy in Death (2010)
  • Indulgence in Death (2010)
  • Possession in Death (2012)
  • Treachery in Death (2011)
  • New York to Dallas (2011)
  • Chaos in Death (2013)
  • Celebrity in Death (2012)
  • Delusion in Death (2012)
  • Calculated in Death (2013)
  • Thankless in Death (2013)
  • Taken in Death (2013)
  • Concealed in Death (2014)
  • Festive in Death (2014)
  • Obsession in Death (2015)
  • Devoted in Death (2015)
  • Wonderment in Death (2016)
  • Brotherhood in Death (2016)
  • Apprentice in Death (2016)
  • Echoes in Death (2017)
  • Secrets in Death (2017)
  • Dark in Death (2018)
  • Leverage in Death (2018)
  • Connections in Death (2019)
  • Vendetta in Death (2019)
  • Golden In Death (2020)
  • Shadows in Death (2020)
  • Faithless in Death (2021)
  • Forgotten In Death (2021)
  • Abandoned in Death (2022)
  • Desperation in Death (2022)
  • Encore in Death (2023)
  • Payback in Death (2023)
  • Random in Death (2024)
  • Passions in Death (2024)


What is the reading order for J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series?

The reading order for the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb begins with “Naked in Death” and follows chronologically through the latest release, ensuring continuity in character development and storylines.

How many books are in the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb?

As of now, there are over 50 books in the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb, with new additions being published regularly. The series continues to captivate readers with its compelling characters and intricate plots.

Can I read the “In Death” series out of order?

While each book in the series can stand alone to some extent, reading them in order allows for a deeper understanding of character relationships and overarching story arcs. Starting from the beginning enhances the overall reading experience.

Are there any spin-off series related to J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series?

Yes, there are spin-off series related to the “In Death” series, such as the “Chronicles of The One” trilogy. These spin-offs offer new perspectives and expand upon the rich universe created by J.D. Robb, providing additional depth for fans to explore.


The JD Robb series, in order, presents gripping crime novels following Lieutenant Eve Dallas in futuristic New York. With intricate plots and engaging characters, it captivates readers from start to finish.

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool offers a convenient solution for converting text to speech online. Its user-friendly interface and accurate speech synthesis make it a valuable resource for various applications, from accessibility to content creation. 

Leave a Comment