Jack Reacher Book Series In Order

The Jack Reacher is a gripping book series penned by British author Lee Child. Centered around the enigmatic protagonist, Jack Reacher, a former major in the United States Army Military Police Corps, the series delves into thrilling adventures filled with action, mystery, and suspense. 

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the Jack Reacher book series, providing readers with a guide to experiencing the thrilling adventures of Jack Reacher in the sequence they were intended to be read.


The Jack Reacher series, written by Lee Child, is a collection of novels and short stories about Jack Reacher, a former major in the U.S. Army Military Police Corps who roams the United States taking odd jobs and investigating suspicious and frequently dangerous situations. The series is known for its action-packed plots, tight prose, and the compelling character of Reacher himself, who embodies the archetype of the wandering hero or drifter with a strong sense of justice.

Here’s a basic guide to understanding the series, especially if you’re thinking about diving in:

Publication Order vs. Chronological Order

The books were not published in the chronological order of Reacher’s life. The first book, “Killing Floor” (1997), is actually a good starting point as it introduces Reacher and his nomadic lifestyle after leaving the military. However, if you prefer to follow Reacher’s life story as it unfolds, you might want to read the series in chronological order, which starts with “The Enemy” (set during Reacher’s military service).

Key Points in the Series

  • Early Books: Focus on Reacher’s adjustment to civilian life, showcasing his detective skills, intelligence, and physical prowess.
  • Middle Books: Expand on Reacher’s wanderlust and his tendency to stumble upon trouble, offering deeper insights into his character and past.
  • Later Books: Continue with Reacher’s adventures, sometimes including characters from earlier books and further exploring his military background.

Reading Order

If you’re a newcomer, here are a few approaches to reading the series:

  • Publication Order: Starting with “Killing Floor” and moving forward as the books were released. This way, you experience the series as readers did when it was first published.
  • Chronological Order: Begins with “The Enemy” (prequel set during Reacher’s Army days), followed by “Night School”, and then “The Affair”, before moving to “Killing Floor” and the rest according to the character’s timeline.
  • Mix and Match: Some readers prefer to jump in with any book that catches their interest, as most novels can stand alone with self-contained stories.

Spin-offs and Related Works

  • Short Stories: Lee Child has also written numerous short stories and novellas featuring Jack Reacher, providing glimpses into different aspects of his life and past.
  • Collaborations: Lee Child has collaborated with other authors, contributing to anthologies and participating in crossover projects.
  • Transition: Lee Child announced that his brother, Andrew Child (also known as Andrew Grant), would be taking over the series, starting with “The Sentinel” (2020).

The Jack Reacher series is well-loved for its blend of mystery, action, and the intriguing persona of Reacher himself. Whether you follow the publication order or dive into the books based on your own interests, the series offers a compelling read for fans of action-packed thrillers.


  •  Killing Floor (1997)
  •  Die Trying (1998)
  •  Tripwire (1999)
  • The Visitor (2000)
  •  aka Running Blind
  •  Echo Burning (2001)
  •  Without Fail (2002)
  •  Persuader (2003)
  •  The Enemy (2004)
  •  One Shot (2005)
  •  The Hard Way (2006)
  •  Bad Luck and Trouble (2007)
  •  Nothing To Lose (2008)
  • Gone Tomorrow (2009)
  • 61 Hours (2010)
  • Worth Dying For (2010)
  • Second Son (2011)
  •  The Affair (2011)
  • Deep Down (2012)
  • Wanted Man (2012)
  •  High Heat (2013)
  •  Never Go Back (2013)
  •  Not a Drill (2014)
  •  Personal (2014)
  •  Good and Valuable Consideration (2014) (with Joseph Finder)
  •  Small Wars (2015)
  •  Make Me (2015)
  •  Night School (2014)
  • Too Much Time (2018)
  • The Midnight Line (2017)
  • The Christmas Scorpion (2018)
  • Past Tense (2018)
  • The Fourth Man (2019)
  • Cleaning the Gold (2019) (with Karin Slaughter)
  • Blue Moon (2019)
  • The Sentinel (2020) (with Andrew Child)
  • Better Off Dead (2021) (with Andrew Child)
  • No Plan B (2022) (with Andrew Child)
  • The Secret (2023) (with Andrew Child)
  • In Too Deep (2024) (with Andrew Child)


What is the correct order to read the Jack Reacher book series?

To read the Jack Reacher series in order, start with “Killing Floor” and proceed chronologically through the books. This ensures you follow Reacher’s adventures seamlessly.

How many books are in the Jack Reacher series?

As of now, there are 26 main novels in the Jack Reacher series, along with several short stories and novellas featuring the character.

Can I skip around in the Jack Reacher series?

While each book can stand alone, reading them in order allows for a better understanding of Reacher’s development and the overarching storylines.

Are there any spin-off series or related books?

Yes, there are spin-off series like the Jack Reacher: The Hunt for Jack Reacher Series by Diane Capri, which explores additional adventures in the Reacher universe.


The Jack Reacher series, penned by Lee Child, guides readers through the thrilling adventures of a former military policeman. With each book, Reacher confronts new challenges, uncovering mysteries and delivering justice. The series is beloved for its gripping plots and the strong, silent protagonist who wanders the United States righting wrongs.

On4t’s Online TTS tool offers a unique way to enjoy these stories. By converting text to speech, it allows fans to listen to Reacher’s exploits anytime, anywhere. This technology makes the books more accessible, ensuring everyone can dive into the action-packed world of Jack Reacher without flipping a page.

Leave a Comment