Complete In Death Series In Order

The In Death series is a collection of novels written by J.D. Robb, a pseudonym for author Nora Roberts. The series follows Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her adventures in a futuristic New York City. 

In this article, we will discuss the In Death series in order, highlighting the progression of the story and the development of its characters. This guide will help readers navigate through the series and understand the chronology of events.

Understanding About In Death Series

The In Death series is a collection of books written by Nora Roberts under the pseudonym J.D. Robb. The series is set in the mid-21st century and follows the life of Eve Dallas, a tough New York City police lieutenant. The stories blend suspense, romance, and futuristic elements.

Each book in the series involves a new case for Eve to solve, often with the help of her wealthy and charming husband, Roarke. The series is known for its well-developed characters and exciting plot twists. It’s easy to get hooked on the stories because of how the personal and professional lives of the characters intertwine.

Reading the In Death series is like diving into a future world where technology and human emotions create complex mysteries. The books are great for anyone who loves thrilling stories with a touch of romance.

Complete In Death Series In Order

  1. Naked in Death (1995)
  2. Glory in Death (1995)
  3. Immortal in Death (1996)
  4. Rapture in Death (1996)
  5. Ceremony In Death (1997)
  6. Vengeance in Death (1997)
  7. Holiday in Death (1998)
    1. Midnight in Death (1998)
  8. Conspiracy in Death (1999)
  9. Loyalty in Death (1999)
  10. Witness in Death (2000)
  11. Judgement in Death (2000)
  12. Betrayal in Death (2001)
    1. Interlude in Death (2001)
  13. Seduction in Death (2001)
  14. Reunion In Death (2002)
  15. Purity in Death (2002)
  16. Portrait in Death (2003)
  17. Imitation in Death (2003)
    1. Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
    2. Big Jack (2010)
  18. Divided in Death (2004)
  19. Visions in Death (2004)
  20. Survivor in Death (2005)
  21. Origin in Death (2005)
  22. Memory in Death (2006)
    1. Haunted in Death (2006)
  23. Born in Death (2006)
  24. Innocent in Death (2007)
    1. Eternity in Death (2007)
  25. Creation in Death (2007)
  26. Strangers in Death (2008)
  27. Salvation In Death (2008)
    1. Ritual in Death (2008)
  28. Promises in Death (2009)
  29. Kindred in Death (2009)
    1. Missing In Death (2009)
  30. Fantasy in Death (2010)
  31. Indulgence in Death (2010)
    1. Possession in Death (2012)
  32. Treachery in Death (2011)
  33. New York to Dallas (2011)
    1. Chaos in Death (2013)
  34. Celebrity in Death (2012)
  35. Delusion in Death (2012)
  36. Calculated in Death (2013)
  37. Thankless in Death (2013)
    1. Taken in Death (2013)
  38. Concealed in Death (2014)
  39. Festive in Death (2014)
  40. Obsession in Death (2015)
  41. Devoted in Death (2015)
    1. Wonderment in Death (2016)
  42. Brotherhood in Death (2016)
  43. Apprentice in Death (2016)
  44. Echoes in Death (2017)
  45. Secrets in Death (2017)
  46. Dark in Death (2018)
  47. Leverage in Death (2018)
  48. Connections in Death (2019)
  49. Vendetta in Death (2019)
  50. Golden In Death (2020)
  51. Shadows in Death (2020)
  52. Faithless in Death (2021)
  53. Forgotten In Death (2021)
  54. Abandoned in Death (2022)
  55. Desperation in Death (2022)
  56. Encore in Death (2023)
  57. Payback in Death (2023)
  58. Random in Death (2024)
  59. Passions in Death (2024)

Omnibus Editions Series Order

  • In Death Three-Book Set (2003)
  • Three in Death (2008)
  • In Death: The First Cases (2009)
  • Rapture in Death / Ceremony in Death (2010)
  • Creation in Death / Strangers in Death (2011)
  • In Death Books 1-5 (2011)
  • Time of Death (2011)
  • In Death Books 6-10 (2011)
  • In Death Books 11-15 (2011)
  • In Death Books 16-20 (2011)
  • In Death Books 21-25 (2011)
  • In Death Books 26-29 (2011)
  • In Death Books 30-32 (2011)
  • Midnight in Death / Interlude in Death (2013)
  • Ritual in Death / Missing in Death (2013)
  • Chaos in Death / Possession in Death (2013)
  • Haunted in Death / Eternity in Death (2013)
  • Naked in Death / Glory in Death (2017)
  • Immortal in Death / Rapture in Death (2018)
  • The In Death Christmas Collection (2019)
  • In Death Books 44-46 (2023)

How to Keep Track of the In Death Series?

Keeping track of the In Death series can be a fun task. This series has many books, so it’s good to stay organized. You can start by making a list of all the books in order. This helps you know which one to read next.

A good way to keep up is by using a reading app or a website that tracks books. These platforms often let you mark books as read and show you the next one in the series. They can even suggest other books you might like.

Finally, joining a fan community can be super helpful. Other fans can share updates and news about the series. They can also offer recommendations and discuss the books with you. It’s a great way to stay connected and enjoy the series even more.


What is the “In Death” series all about?

The “In Death” series is a collection of futuristic crime novels written by J.D. Robb, which is a pseudonym for Nora Roberts. These books follow the life and cases of Lieutenant Eve Dallas, a tough homicide detective in New York City in the mid-21st century. The series blends elements of crime, romance, and science fiction, making it a thrilling read.

In what order should I read the books in this series?

It’s best to read the “In Death” series in chronological order because the characters and their relationships evolve throughout the books. Start with “Naked in Death,” which is the first book, and then follow the order of publication. This way, you’ll get the full experience of the character development and ongoing storylines.

How many books are there in the “In Death” series?

As of my knowledge cutoff date in January 2022, there were over 50 books in the series, with more being released regularly. J.D. Robb has been writing these books for many years, so there’s a lot to enjoy if you become a fan of Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her adventures.

Is there a central theme or recurring element in these books?

Yes, one of the central themes in the “In Death” series is the exploration of justice and the pursuit of truth. Lieutenant Eve Dallas is a dedicated cop who often finds herself dealing with complex cases, and her determination to bring criminals to justice is a recurring theme.


The “In Death” series is a thrilling collection of novels that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. Each book takes you on a unique journey, blending mystery and romance perfectly.

To enhance your reading experience, try using the On4t Online TTS tool. This tool reads the text aloud, making it feel like you’re part of the story. It’s user-friendly and adds an exciting dimension to the series, making the adventures even more gripping.

Leave a Comment