Complete Saw Series In Order

Are you curious about the Saw series and want to watch it in order? The Saw franchise is known for its gripping storyline and intense horror elements. With multiple films released over the years, navigating the series in the correct order can be confusing.

In this article, we will discuss the correct order to watch the Saw series, ensuring you experience the chilling narrative in the intended sequence. By following this guide, you can immerse yourself in the intricate plotlines and unravel the mysteries of this iconic horror franchise.

Understanding Saw Series

The “Saw” series is a collection of horror films that started with the original movie “Saw” released in 2004. The series is known for its unique blend of psychological horror, intricate plots, and, notably, its graphic portrayal of violence and torture. The core concept revolves around the character John Kramer, also known as “Jigsaw,” and his followers. Kramer doesn’t see himself as a killer but as someone who gives his victims a chance to appreciate life by putting them through deadly tests and traps.

Here’s a bit more detail to help you understand the series better:

The Main Theme

  • Appreciation of Life: The central theme of the series is the idea of appreciating life. Jigsaw believes that those who do not value their lives do not deserve them. Through his twisted logic, his traps and games are meant to test his victims’ will to live and force them to save themselves through physical and psychological torture.

Jigsaw and His Philosophy

  • John Kramer (Jigsaw): A former civil engineer turned serial killer, Jigsaw’s character is fascinating due to his complex philosophy. After a personal tragedy and a cancer diagnosis, he becomes disillusioned with people taking their lives for granted. His traps, therefore, are designed to teach his victims to value their lives.

The Traps

  • Ingenious and Brutal: The traps in the “Saw” series are infamous for their brutality and the ingenuity behind their design. Each trap is tailored to the victim’s perceived moral failings, giving them a chance to “redeem” themselves, often through self-mutilation or making morally compromising decisions.

The Story Arcs

  • Complex Narrative: The series is known for its non-linear storytelling, with frequent flashbacks and twists that reveal connections between characters, events, and traps across different movies. This complex narrative structure keeps viewers engaged, trying to piece together the puzzle of Jigsaw’s grand scheme.

Legacy and Followers

  • Continuation of Work: Jigsaw’s legacy is carried on by his followers, who continue his work after his death. These followers, some of whom are survivors of his traps, add layers to the ongoing narrative, often introducing their own interpretations of Jigsaw’s philosophy.

Impact and Criticism

  • Cultural Impact: The “Saw” series has had a significant impact on the horror genre, popularizing the sub-genre often referred to as “torture porn,” which focuses on extreme gore and torture. The series has been both praised for its originality and intricate storytelling and criticized for its graphic violence and perceived glorification of torture.

The Series Continues

  • Sequels and Spin-offs: The series includes multiple sequels and a spin-off, expanding the universe of Jigsaw and exploring the stories of his victims and followers. Each installment attempts to delve deeper into the psychological aspects of Jigsaw’s character and his complex moral philosophy.

The “Saw” series is not just about the gore and horror; it’s a psychological thriller that delves into themes of morality, survival, and the human condition. It’s a series that challenges viewers to think about what it means to value life, all while providing the chills and thrills typical of the horror genre.

Complete Saw Series In Order

1. Saw (2004)

2. Saw X (2023)

3. Saw II (2005)

4. Saw III (2006)

5. Saw IV (2007)

6. Saw V (2008)

7. Saw VI (2009)

8. Saw 3D (2010)

9. Jigsaw (2017)

10. Spiral: From the Book of Saw (2021)


What is the Saw series about?

The Saw series revolves around the twisted games and traps set by the notorious serial killer known as Jigsaw. His victims are often placed in life-threatening situations, where they must make gruesome choices to survive.

How many movies are in the Saw series?

There are a total of nine movies in the Saw series, including the original film released in 2004 and its sequels. These movies explore the complex backstory of Jigsaw, his disciples, and the victims of his sadistic games.

Who is Jigsaw in the Saw series?

Jigsaw, also known as John Kramer, is the central antagonist of the Saw series. He is a brilliant yet deranged individual who sets up elaborate traps to test the will to live of his victims. His motives stem from a desire to make people appreciate their lives.

What is the significance of the traps in the Saw series?

The traps in the Saw series serve as gruesome tests of morality and survival. They force the characters to confront their darkest secrets and make difficult decisions under extreme pressure. The traps are a core element of the series’ suspense and horror.


Watching the Saw series in the right order lets you dive deep into its complex story, full of twists and clever puzzles. This journey through horror and suspense reveals how each piece connects, making the overall experience richer.

Talking about tools that make life easier, the On4t Online TTS (Text-to-Speech) tool stands out. It’s great for turning text into speech, making information accessible to everyone. Easy to use, it helps in learning and enjoying content without reading it.

Leave a Comment