Assassin’s Creed Series Games In Order

The Assassin’s Creed series comprises a renowned collection of video games known for their immersive historical settings and engaging gameplay. Developed by Ubisoft, these games take players on a journey through various time periods, allowing them to experience the life of assassins and explore richly detailed worlds.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the Assassin’s Creed series games, guiding you through the captivating narratives and thrilling adventures that await within each installment.

Understanding Assassin’s Creed Series Games

The “Assassin’s Creed” series is a collection of action-adventure games developed and published by Ubisoft. It’s renowned for blending historical fiction with real-world historical events and figures, alongside a present-day storyline. Here’s a breakdown to help you understand the series better:

Core Concept

  • Historical Settings: Each game is set in a meticulously recreated historical period, offering a rich, immersive experience. Players explore ancient cities, interact with historical figures, and influence key events.
  • Assassins vs. Templars: The central theme revolves around the conflict between the Assassins, who fight for freedom and free will, and the Templars, who seek control over mankind to bring order. This conflict is traced from ancient times to the modern era.
  • Ancestral Memories: The series introduces the concept of genetic memory, allowing characters in the present day to relive the memories of their ancestors through a device called the Animus. This is the core mechanism through which players experience historical settings.

Key Games and Settings

  • Assassin’s Creed (2007): Set during the Third Crusade in the Holy Land, introducing players to the conflict between Assassins and Templars.
  • Assassin’s Creed II (2009): Follows Ezio Auditore in Renaissance Italy, marking the start of the Ezio Trilogy, which includes “Brotherhood” and “Revelations.”
  • Assassin’s Creed III (2012): Takes place during the American Revolution, featuring a new protagonist, Connor.
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (2013): A pirate-themed adventure set in the Caribbean during the Golden Age of Piracy.
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity (2014): Set in Paris during the French Revolution.
  • Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (2015): Explores Victorian London.
  • Assassin’s Creed Origins (2017): Goes back to Ancient Egypt, focusing on the origins of the Assassin Brotherhood.
  • Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (2018): Set in Ancient Greece during the Peloponnesian War, it introduced more RPG elements.
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla (2020): Centers on Viking invasions of Britain.

Gameplay Evolution

  • Early Games: Focused on stealth, parkour, and close combat within linear storylines.
  • Later Titles: Shifted towards open-world exploration with more RPG elements, such as skill trees, dialogue options, and moral decisions affecting the story.

Modern Day Storyline

  • The series also weaves a modern-day storyline alongside the historical narratives. Initially centered around Desmond Miles, a bartender who discovers his Assassin heritage, the series later introduces other characters like Layla Hassan, further exploring the modern-day implications of the Assassins vs. Templars conflict.

Cultural Impact

  • The series is praised for its historical accuracy (to a degree), attention to detail, and the way it brings history to life through interactive media. It’s also sparked discussions on the portrayal of historical events and figures, blending education with entertainment.

Future Directions

  • Ubisoft continues to expand the “Assassin’s Creed” universe with new titles, exploring different periods and settings. The series has also inspired novels, comics, and a film adaptation, indicating its significant impact on popular culture.

“Assassin’s Creed” is more than just a game series; it’s a vast narrative universe that invites players to explore pivotal moments in history, all while pondering the philosophical questions of freedom versus control.

Complete Assassin’s Creed Series Games In Order

  • Assassin’s Creed – 2007
  • Assassin’s Creed II – 2009
  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood – 2010
  • Assassin’s Creed: Revelations – 2011
  • Assassin’s Creed III – 2012
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag – 2013
  • Assassin’s Creed: Rogue – 2014
  • Assassin’s Creed: Unity – 2014
  • Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate – 2015
  • Assassin’s Creed: Origins 2017
  • Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey – 2018
  • Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla – 2020
  • Assassin’s Creed: Mirage – 2023


What is the Assassin’s Creed series about?

The Assassin’s Creed series is an action-adventure franchise set in historical settings. Players typically control an assassin who fights against a secret society known as the Templars. The games blend historical events with fictional storytelling, offering a mix of stealth, exploration, and combat.

How many games are there in the Assassin’s Creed series?

As of now, there are over 10 mainline titles in the Assassin’s Creed series, including spin-offs and expansions. The franchise has explored various historical periods and locations, from ancient Egypt to Victorian London, providing players with diverse experiences.

Do I need to play the games in order?

While playing the games in chronological order can enhance the overall experience, each title is designed to stand alone. You can enjoy any game in the series without playing the others, as they often feature different protagonists and storylines. However, playing them in order can provide a deeper understanding of the overarching narrative.

What platforms are Assassin’s Creed games available on?

Assassin’s Creed games are primarily released on consoles such as PlayStation and Xbox, as well as PC. Additionally, some titles have been adapted for mobile devices. You can enjoy the series on a variety of platforms, allowing for flexibility in how and where you play.


To sum up, the Assassin’s Creed series games have captivated players with their immersive historical settings, engaging narratives, and fluid gameplay. Starting from the Crusades to ancient Egypt and beyond, each installment has offered a unique experience while maintaining the core elements of stealth, action, and exploration. 

Moreover, On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by providing a simple yet powerful solution for converting text to speech. Its user-friendly interface and customizable features make it a valuable tool for individuals with visual impairments or anyone looking to consume content hands-free.

Leave a Comment