Watch Throne Of Glass Series In Order

The Watch Throne of Glass Series in Order topic is all about figuring out the best sequence to enjoy a popular fantasy series. This series, packed with adventure, magic, and intrigue, has captured the hearts of many fans around the world. 

In this article, we will discuss the optimal viewing order for the Throne of Glass series. Whether you’re a newcomer or revisiting the series, we’ll guide you through the storyline so you can enjoy the epic journey from start to finish without missing a beat.

Understanding Throne Of Glass Series

The story kicks off with Celaena Sardothien, a young assassin, who is offered a chance to win her freedom by participating in a competition to become the King’s Champion. The series unfolds from there, expanding into a larger tale of magic, ancient prophecies, and epic battles.

Main Characters

  • Celaena Sardothien/Aelin Galathynius: The protagonist, is known for her lethal skills and witty personality. Her character evolves significantly throughout the series.
  • Dorian Havilliard: The Crown Prince of Adarlan, who befriends Celaena. He has his own journey of growth and discovery.
  • Chaol Westfall: The Captain of the Guard who forms a complex relationship with Celaena. His loyalty and moral compass are tested throughout the series.
  • Manon Blackbeak: A fierce witch warrior who becomes an important character, known for her ruthlessness and depth.
  • Rowan Whitethorn: A fae warrior bound to Aelin. His relationship with her deepens as the story progresses.

Themes and Elements

  • Fantasy and Magic: The series is set in a world where magic has been suppressed but plays a crucial role. Mythical creatures, ancient lore, and powerful artifacts are central to the plot.
  • Political Intrigue: The struggle for power, the clash of kingdoms, and the deceit within the court add layers of complexity.
  • Romance: Relationships, both tender and tumultuous, are woven throughout the narrative, adding emotional depth.
  • Empowerment and Identity: Aelin’s journey from a notorious assassin to a queen is a story of self-discovery, resilience, and empowerment.

Series Structure

The series consists of several main books, starting with Throne of Glass and concluding with Kingdom of Ash. Some novellas explore the backstory and side stories, providing additional context and depth to the world and its characters.

Why It Stands Out

  • Character Development: The characters undergo significant growth, facing personal demons and evolving in unexpected ways.
  • World-Building: Maas creates a vivid, complex world with its own history, cultures, and rules of magic.
  • Plot Twists: The series is known for its surprising twists, keeping readers on their toes.

Reading Order

For the best experience, it’s generally recommended to start with the first book, Throne of Glass, and proceed in publication order. The prequel novellas collected in The Assassin’s Blade can be read either before starting the series or after the first couple of books to avoid spoilers and understand the backstory better.

Throne of Glass is more than just a tale of magic and kingdoms; it’s a story about finding one’s strength, forging alliances, and fighting for what’s right, making it a captivating read for fans of fantasy literature.

Complete Throne Of Glass Series In Order

  • Throne of Glass (2012)
  • Crown of Midnight (2013)
  • Heir of Fire (2014)
  • Queen of Shadows (2015)
  • Empire of Storms (2016)
  • Tower of Dawn (2017)
  • Kingdom of Ash (2018)

Throne of Glass (2012) introduces us to Celaena Sardothien, a skilled assassin imprisoned in the salt mines of Endovier. When the Crown Prince offers her a chance at freedom, she must compete in a deadly competition to serve as the king’s champion.

Crown of Midnight (2013) follows Celaena as she fulfills her role as the king’s assassin, uncovering dark secrets and facing dangerous adversaries. With betrayal lurking in the shadows, she must navigate political intrigue and protect those she loves.

In Heir of Fire (2014), Celaena embarks on a journey to Wendlyn to seek answers about her past and unlock her true potential. Along the way, she forms unexpected alliances and confronts powerful enemies, discovering the depth of her magic and heritage.

Queen of Shadows (2015) sees Celaena return to Rifthold with a new identity, determined to avenge the ones she’s lost and overthrow the tyrannical king. As tensions rise and battles ensue, she must confront her destiny and embrace her role in shaping the future of Erilea.

Empire of Storms (2016) follows Celaena and her allies as they unite kingdoms to stand against the looming threat of Erawan and his dark forces. With alliances tested and sacrifices made, they must fight for the survival of their world in an epic battle of magic and courage.

Tower of Dawn (2017) shifts focus to Chaol Westfall as he journeys to the Southern Continent to seek allies for the war against Erawan. Amidst political intrigue and personal struggles, Chaol discovers unexpected allies and uncovers secrets that could change the course of the conflict.

Kingdom of Ash (2018) brings Celaena’s journey to a thrilling conclusion as she leads the fight against Erawan and his armies in a final battle for the fate of Erilea. With allies old and new by her side, she must summon all her strength and courage to vanquish the darkness threatening her world.


What is the correct reading order for the Throne of Glass series?

The recommended order is:
Throne of Glass
Crown of Midnight
Heir of Fire
Queen of Shadows
Empire of Storms
Tower of Dawn
Kingdom of Ash

Is it essential to read the Throne of Glass novellas?

While not mandatory, the novellas provide an enriching backstory. Consider reading them after finishing the main series for a deeper understanding of the characters and world.

Are there any companion books or related series to the Throne of Glass?

Yes, The Assassin’s Blade is a collection of prequel novellas. Additionally, the Court of Thorns and Roses series by the same author shares a universe with overlapping elements.

Is it possible to start reading the Throne of Glass series from any book?

It’s highly recommended to begin with Throne of Glass to grasp the series’ foundation, character introductions, and world-building. Starting from later books may confuse.


Watching the Throne of Glass series in order gives you a full adventure and understanding of the story. It’s like putting together a puzzle, where each book is a piece that adds to the big picture. You get to see characters grow and plots twist in ways that keep you hooked.

To make your reading experience even better, the On4t Online TTS tool can read the books out loud to you. It’s easy to use and can follow along with you, wherever you are in the series. This tool helps if you’re busy but still want to dive into the world of Throne of Glass.

Leave a Comment