Watch Fate Series In Order

The Fate series is a collection of anime and games known for its complex storyline and captivating characters. It mixes historical figures and mythological elements in a modern-day setting, where they battle for the Holy Grail. 

In this article, we will discuss the best order to watch the Fate series to understand its intricate plot and enjoy the character development. This guide aims to help newcomers and fans alike navigate the series with ease.

Understanding Fate Series

The Fate series began with the visual novel Fate/stay night, created by Type-Moon. It has since expanded into a vast universe with multiple spin-offs, including anime, games, novels, and manga.

The core concept revolves around the Holy Grail War, a battle royale among mages (Masters) and their summoned heroic spirits (Servants) who are historical or mythological figures.

The Main Entries

  • Fate/stay night (2004): The original visual novel, which has three main routes:
    • Fate: Focuses on Saber and her relationship with the protagonist, Shirou Emiya.
    • Unlimited Blade Works: Centers on Rin Tohsaka and Archer, diving deeper into Shirou’s ideals and contradictions.
    • Heaven’s Feel: Explores Sakura Matou’s dark backstory and the nature of the Holy Grail itself.
  • Fate/Zero (2011-2012): A prequel to Fate/stay night, it details the 4th Holy Grail War, featuring a darker tone and more mature themes. It focuses on Kiritsugu Emiya, Shirou’s adoptive father.
  • Fate/Apocrypha (2017): Set in an alternate universe where the Holy Grail was stolen, leading to a Great Holy Grail War with two factions of Servants and Masters.
  • Fate/Grand Order: A mobile game that has expanded into anime adaptations. It’s set in a world where players must travel through time to correct historical anomalies.
  • Fate/Extra series: A separate timeline that explores digital realms and virtual battles, starting with the Fate/Extra game, and its anime adaptation, Fate/Extra Last Encore.

Spin-offs and Other Media

  • Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya: A magical girl series featuring Illya, an alternate version of Illyasviel von Einzbern from Fate/stay night.
  • Carnival Phantasm: A comedy crossover featuring characters from various Type-Moon series, including Fate.

Key Themes and Features

  • Heroic Spirits: Servants are the spirits of historical or legendary figures, categorized into classes like Saber, Archer, and Lancer. Each has unique abilities and Noble Phantasms (powerful attacks or weapons).
  • The Grail War: A battle royale with the promise of granting the winner’s wish, but it’s also filled with betrayals, complex relationships, and moral dilemmas.
  • Mages and Magic: The series explores various aspects of magic, magecraft, and the philosophical underpinnings of using such power.

Why Watch/Read Fate?

  • Complex Characters: Deeply developed characters, each with their own backstory, motivations, and growth.
  • Epic Battles: Stunningly animated battles that blend magic and martial prowess.
  • Philosophical Depth: Themes of destiny, justice, and the nature of heroism are explored throughout the series.

Getting Started

Due to its non-linear storytelling and multiple universes, there’s no one-size-fits-all approach to experiencing the Fate series. However, many recommend starting with Fate/stay night’s anime adaptations (in the order of Fate, Unlimited Blade Works, and then Heaven’s Feel movies) or Fate/Zero to get a comprehensive understanding of its world and lore.

From there, you can explore the vast universe of Fate in almost any direction that piques your interest. Whether you’re drawn to the historical intrigue, the philosophical questions, or the dynamic character interactions, there’s something in Fate for everyone.

Complete Fate Series In Order

1. Fate/stay night (2006)

2. Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014-2015)

3. Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] I. presage flower

4. Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] II. lost butterfly

5. Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] I. spring song

6. Fate/Zero

Fate/stay night (2006) is the first adaptation of the visual novel, following the story of a high school student named Shirou Emiya who becomes involved in a battle royale known as the Holy Grail War. With the help of his servant Saber, Shirou fights against other mages and their servants to obtain the Holy Grail, a mystical artifact that can grant any wish.

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014-2015) is a retelling of one of the routes from the visual novel, focusing on the conflict between Shirou and Archer, his own future self. As the Holy Grail War unfolds, Shirou must confront his ideals and face powerful adversaries in order to protect those he cares about.

Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] I. presage flower is the first installment of the Heaven’s Feel film trilogy, which adapts the third and final route of the visual novel. It delves deeper into the darker aspects of the Holy Grail War, revealing hidden truths and exploring the consequences of the characters’ actions.

Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] II. lost butterfly continues the story from the first film, delving further into the mysteries surrounding the Holy Grail War and the true nature of the Grail itself. As Shirou and his allies face increasingly dangerous opponents, they must make difficult choices that will shape the outcome of the war.

Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] III. spring song concludes the Heaven’s Feel trilogy, bringing the epic battle for the Holy Grail to its thrilling conclusion. As the stakes grow higher and the true enemy is revealed, Shirou and his companions must muster all their strength and courage to survive the final confrontation.

Fate/Zero serves as a prequel to Fate/stay night, depicting the events of the Fourth Holy Grail War. Set ten years before the events of Fate/stay night, the series follows a new cast of characters as they compete in a deadly battle for the Holy Grail. With stunning animation and complex characters, Fate/Zero explores themes of heroism, betrayal, and the nature of humanity.


What is the correct order to watch the Fate series?

To follow the main storyline, start with Fate/stay night, then Fate/Zero, and continue with Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works and Fate/stay night: Heaven’s Feel.

Can I watch Fate/Zero before Fate/stay night?

Yes, Fate/Zero serves as a prequel to Fate/stay night. However, it’s recommended to watch Fate/stay night first for better understanding of the universe and characters.

What about spin-offs like Fate/Apocrypha and Fate/Extra?

While they exist within the Fate universe, they have separate storylines. It’s not necessary to watch them in order to understand the main Fate series.

Is there a specific viewing order for the Fate movies and OVAs?

Yes, watch them in accordance with their respective series. For example, Fate/stay night: Heaven’s Feel movies should be watched after Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works for the best viewing experience.


Watching the Fate series in the right order makes sure you catch all the action, drama, and character stories without getting lost. This way, you get the full experience of its unique world, heroes, and epic battles.

Talking about unique, the On4t Online TTS tool is a game changer for making text sound like real speech. It’s super helpful for anyone who needs to hear texts out loud, making reading and understanding stuff easier and more accessible.

Leave a Comment