The Selection Series In Order

The Selection Series is a popular set of novels written by Kiera Cass, known for its captivating blend of romance, drama, and intrigue. Set in a dystopian world, the series follows the journey of a young woman named America Singer as she navigates the challenges of love and power in a society divided by class.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of The Selection Series, providing readers with a clear roadmap to enjoy the story in its entirety.

Understanding The Selection Series

“The Selection” series, written by Kiera Cass, is a blend of dystopian romance and young adult fiction that has captivated readers with its engaging storyline and complex characters. Here’s a breakdown to help you understand the series better:


The series is set in a dystopian future in the country of Illea, which was once part of the United States. The society is divided into a caste system with Eights being the lowest and Ones being the royalty. The story revolves around America Singer, a Five, who enters a competition called “The Selection” to win the heart of Prince Maxon Schreave and become the next queen of Illea. However, America’s heart is torn between the prince and her first love, Aspen, who belongs to a lower caste.

Main Books

  • The Selection (2012): Introduces America Singer and the Selection process. America is selected as one of the 35 girls competing for Prince Maxon’s heart.
  • The Elite (2013): The competition narrows down to the final six girls, known as the Elite, and America struggles with her feelings for Maxon and Aspen.
  • The One (2014): The conclusion of America’s story, where she makes her final choice between Maxon and Aspen amidst growing political unrest.
  • The Heir (2015): Moves forward in time to follow America and Maxon’s daughter, Princess Eadlyn, who has her own Selection to navigate.
  • The Crown (2016): Concludes Eadlyn’s story, focusing on her journey through the Selection process and her ultimate decision.


The series also includes several novellas that provide additional perspectives and background stories of various characters, enhancing the main narrative. These include:

  • “The Prince” (Maxon’s POV)
  • “The Guard” (Aspen’s POV)
  • “The Queen” (a prequel about Maxon’s mother)
  • “The Favorite” (Marlee’s story)
  • And others, offering deeper insights into the world of Illea and its inhabitants.

Themes and Elements

  • Romance: Central to the series, showcasing the complexities of love and relationships within the constraints of societal expectations.
  • Dystopian Society: Explores themes of social class, inequality, and resistance against a rigid caste system.
  • Competition: The Selection itself is a unique blend of reality TV-style competition and traditional royal courtship, adding an element of suspense and rivalry.
  • Personal Growth: Characters, especially America and Eadlyn, undergo significant personal growth, learning about leadership, love, and making difficult choices.
  • Political Intrigue: The series delves into the politics of Illea, including rebellion groups fighting against the monarchy and caste system.

“The Selection” series is known for its engaging storytelling, romantic dilemmas, and a vividly imagined world. It appeals to readers who enjoy young adult fiction, dystopian worlds, and fairy-tale-like romance stories.

Complete The Selection Series In Order

  • The Selection
  • The Prince
  • The Elite
  • The Guard
  • The One
  • The Queen
  • The Heir
  • The Favorite
  • Happily Ever After Collection
  • The Crown


What is “The Selection Series” about?

“The Selection Series” is a captivating young adult book series set in a dystopian world where a competition called the Selection takes place to find a bride for the prince. It follows the journey of America Singer, who finds herself torn between love and duty.

How many books are in “The Selection Series”?

“The Selection Series” consists of five main books: “The Selection,” “The Elite,” “The One,” “The Heir,” and “The Crown.” Additionally, there are also companion novels and novellas that further expand the world and characters.

Who is the author of “The Selection Series”?

“The Selection Series” is written by Kiera Cass, an American author known for her captivating storytelling and engaging characters. Cass has gained a large fanbase with her compelling narratives and unique blend of romance and dystopian elements.

What age group is “The Selection Series” suitable for?

“The Selection Series” is generally suitable for young adult readers, typically ages 13 and up. Its blend of romance, intrigue, and dystopian themes makes it appealing to a wide range of readers who enjoy captivating stories with strong character development.


The Selection Series takes you through a captivating journey of love, rivalry, and the quest for a brighter future within a unique dystopian world. It hooks readers with its blend of romance and societal challenges, making it a hit among fans of young adult fiction.

Also, if you’re into reading out loud, the On4t Online TTS tool is great. It reads texts in a clear voice, making any book or document easy to listen to. This tool is handy for enjoying books like The Selection Series without actually reading them.

Leave a Comment