Mercy Thompson series in order

The Mercy Thompson series, written by Patricia Briggs, is a captivating urban fantasy series following the adventures of Mercy Thompson, a shape-shifting coyote and skilled mechanic. Set in a world where werewolves, vampires, and other supernatural creatures exist alongside humans, each book in the series is filled with action, mystery, and romance.

In this article, we will discuss the Mercy Thompson series in order, to explore the thrilling journey of Mercy as she navigates the complexities of the supernatural world while facing various challenges and adversaries along the way.

Understanding the Mercy Thompson series

The Mercy Thompson series is a collection of urban fantasy novels written by Patricia Briggs. It revolves around Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson, a mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. Mercy isn’t your average mechanic, though; she’s a walker, a being with the ability to shapeshift into a coyote at will. What makes this series particularly engaging is its rich blend of fantasy elements, including werewolves, vampires, fae, and witches, all coexisting with humans in the modern world, albeit somewhat hidden from the full view of human society.

Main Themes and Setting

The series is set against a backdrop that cleverly integrates the mystical with the mundane. Mercy herself is a bridge between the human world and the supernatural, thanks to her heritage and abilities. The novels explore themes of identity, belonging, and the nature of power through the lens of various supernatural communities and their interactions with humans and each other.

Key Characters

  • Mercy Thompson: The protagonist, is known for her resilience, wit, and strong moral compass. Her ability to shapeshift comes from her Native American heritage.
  • Adam Hauptman: Mercy’s neighbor and the Alpha of the local werewolf pack. He plays a significant role in the series, both as a leader in the supernatural community and as a romantic interest for Mercy.
  • Samuel Cornick: A werewolf with a complicated past with Mercy. He’s also a doctor, which comes in handy given the series’ often dangerous events.
  • Bran Cornick: The Marrok, or leader of all werewolves in North America, and Samuel’s father. He’s a powerful and enigmatic figure who has a special interest in Mercy’s well-being.

Plot Overview

The series kicks off with “Moon Called,” where Mercy finds herself entangled in a dangerous situation involving a young werewolf. This event pulls her deeper into the supernatural world, where she navigates the complexities of werewolf politics, fae secrecy, and vampire intrigue. Each book typically presents a central mystery or conflict that Mercy and her allies must resolve, often highlighting her unique position as a mediator between different supernatural factions.

Why It Stands Out

  • Character Development: One of the series’ strengths is its well-developed characters, who grow and change over time, facing personal and communal challenges.
  • World-Building: Patricia Briggs has created a detailed and believable world where the supernatural is hidden in plain sight, with its own rules, politics, and cultures.
  • Mix of Genres: While primarily urban fantasy, the series also incorporates elements of mystery, romance, and action, making it appealing to a wide range of readers.


The Mercy Thompson series offers a compelling urban fantasy world with a strong, likable heroine at its center. The blend of supernatural elements with relatable human issues, along with the dynamic and evolving relationships between characters, makes it a standout in the genre. Whether you’re drawn to the world-building, the action-packed plots, or the character-driven stories, there’s something in this series for every urban fantasy fan.


  • Moon Called (2006)
  • Blood Bound (2007)
  • Iron Kissed (2008)
  • Bone Crossed (2009)
  • Silver Borne (2010)
  • River Marked (2011)
  • Frost Burned (2013)
  • Night Broken (2014)
  • Fire Touched (2016)
  • Silence Fallen (2017)
  • Storm Cursed (2019)
  • Smoke Bitten (2020)
  • Soul Taken (2022)
  • Winter Lost (2024)


the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs is a beloved urban fantasy series centered around Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson, a mechanic and shapeshifter living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. The series is known for its intricate plot, well-developed characters, and the supernatural world that intersects with our own. Here are five frequently asked questions about the series:

What is the correct order to read the Mercy Thompson series?

Moon Called (2006)
Blood Bound (2007)
Iron Kissed (2008)
Bone Crossed (2009)
Silver Borne (2010)
River Marked (2011)
Frost Burned (2013)
Night Broken (2014)
Fire Touched (2016)
Silence Fallen (2017)
Storm Cursed (2019)
Smoke Bitten (2020)

Do I need to read the Alpha and Omega series to understand the Mercy Thompson series?

Not necessarily, but it’s recommended. The Alpha and Omega series is a companion series that focuses on Charles Cornick and Anna Latham. It runs parallel to the Mercy Thompson series and expands on the universe, including some crossover characters and events. Reading both series provides a more comprehensive understanding of the world Patricia Briggs has created.

Is there a Mercy Thompson TV series or movie?

As of my last update, there’s no TV series or movie adaptation of the Mercy Thompson series. However, the rich storytelling and engaging world have sparked discussions and hopes among fans for a potential adaptation in the future.

How does the series blend different supernatural elements?

The Mercy Thompson series stands out for its blend of various supernatural elements and lore, including werewolves, vampires, fae, and witches, all co-existing with humans. Mercy herself is a coyote shapeshifter, which adds another layer to the mix. The series explores the dynamics, politics, and relationships between these different groups, often with Mercy at the center of the interactions.

What themes are explored in the Mercy Thompson series?

The series delves into themes of identity, belonging, and family. Mercy, as a walker (a Native American shapeshifter), navigates her place in a world filled with more powerful supernatural beings. The series also explores themes of love, loyalty, and the idea of choosing one’s family.


To sum up, the Mercy Thompson series offers an exhilarating journey through a world where supernatural beings coexist with humans, blending action, romance, and suspense seamlessly. 

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool provides a convenient solution for adding stylish subtitles to videos quickly. Its user-friendly interface and efficient functionality make it a valuable asset for content creators seeking to enhance their video content effortlessly.

Leave a Comment