J.D. Robb’s Book Series In Order

J.D. Robb’s book series follows the thrilling adventures of Lieutenant Eve Dallas, set in a futuristic New York City. Each installment blends elements of crime, romance, and suspense, captivating readers with its compelling characters and intricate plots.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of J.D. Robb’s book series, providing readers with a guide to delve into Lieutenant Eve Dallas’s world from the very beginning.

Understanding J.D. Robb’s Book Series

J.D. Robb is the pseudonym used by Nora Roberts for her “In Death” series, a blend of science fiction, romance, and crime drama set in mid-21st century New York City. The series kicked off in 1995 with “Naked in Death” and has grown to include over 50 books, making it a significant achievement in terms of both volume and popularity. Here’s a quick dive into what makes this series stand out:

Main Characters

  • Eve Dallas: The series centers around Eve Dallas, a tough, dedicated, and highly skilled homicide lieutenant with the New York City Police and Security Department (NYPSD). Eve’s complex personality and dark past make her a compelling protagonist.
  • Roarke: He is Eve’s wealthy and enigmatic husband, with a murky background in crime. Roarke becomes an invaluable ally in Eve’s investigations, using his considerable resources and tech expertise to assist her.

Themes and Setting

  • Futuristic Setting: The series is set in the future (the 2050s and beyond), which allows for the inclusion of advanced technology and societal changes, such as flying cars, auto-chefs, and off-planet travel.
  • Crime and Mystery: At its core, the series focuses on solving murders. Each book typically features a new case or set of crimes, providing a fresh plot while developing the characters and their relationships further.
  • Romance: The evolving relationship between Eve and Roarke is a central theme, offering readers a deep dive into their complexities and growth as a couple.
  • Personal Growth: Beyond the crime-solving, the series delves into themes of personal healing, friendship, and the importance of found family, particularly as Eve comes to terms with her traumatic past.

Style and Reception

  • Mix of Genres: J.D. Robb successfully combines elements of police procedural, romance, and science fiction, appealing to fans of multiple genres.
  • Character Development: Readers have lauded the series for its character depth and development. The recurring characters grow and evolve over time, facing personal and professional challenges that make them more relatable.
  • Consistent Publishing: The series has seen a steady release of books, often with two titles being published each year, which has helped maintain its popularity and keep fans engaged.

Starting Points

While it’s beneficial to start with “Naked in Death” to understand Eve’s background and watch the relationships develop from the beginning, each book is structured so that you could jump in at almost any point and get a satisfying crime-solving experience. The series does a good job of providing context for new readers without feeling repetitive for the veterans.

Cultural Impact

The “In Death” series has not only cemented Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb’s status as a bestselling author but has also contributed significantly to the genre, blending traditional detective work with futuristic settings and deep, emotional character arcs. It’s a testament to Roberts’ versatility and skill as an author, capable of engaging readers across genres and generations.

Complete J.D. Robb’s Book Series In Order

  • Naked in Death (1995)
  • Glory in Death (1995)
  • Immortal in Death (1996)
  • Rapture in Death (1996)
  • Ceremony In Death (1997)
  • Vengeance in Death (1997)
  • Holiday in Death (1998)
  • Midnight in Death (1998)
  • Conspiracy in Death (1999)
  • Loyalty in Death (1999)
  • Witness in Death (2000)
  • Judgement in Death (2000)
  • Betrayal in Death (2001)
  • Interlude in Death (2001)
  • Seduction in Death (2001)
  • Reunion In Death (2002)
  • Purity in Death (2002)
  • Portrait in Death (2003)
  • Imitation in Death (2003)
  • Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
  • Big Jack (2010)
  • Divided in Death (2004)
  • Visions in Death (2004)
  • Survivor in Death (2005)
  • Origin in Death (2005)
  • Memory in Death (2006)
  • Haunted in Death (2006)
  • Born in Death (2006)
  • Innocent in Death (2007)
  • Eternity in Death (2007)
  • Creation in Death (2007)
  • Strangers in Death (2008)
  • Salvation In Death (2008)
  • Ritual in Death (2008)
  • Promises in Death (2009)
  • Kindred in Death (2009)
  • Missing In Death (2009)
  • Fantasy in Death (2010)
  • Indulgence in Death (2010)
  • Possession in Death (2012)
  • Treachery in Death (2011)
  • New York to Dallas (2011)
  • Chaos in Death (2013)
  • Celebrity in Death (2012)
  • Delusion in Death (2012)
  • Calculated in Death (2013)
  • Thankless in Death (2013)
  • Taken in Death (2013)
  • Concealed in Death (2014)
  • Festive in Death (2014)
  • Obsession in Death (2015)
  • Devoted in Death (2015)
  • Wonderment in Death (2016)
  • Brotherhood in Death (2016)
  • Apprentice in Death (2016)
  • Echoes in Death (2017)
  • Secrets in Death (2017)
  • Dark in Death (2018)
  • Leverage in Death (2018)
  • Connections in Death (2019)
  • Vendetta in Death (2019)
  • Golden In Death (2020)
  • Shadows in Death (2020)
  • Faithless in Death (2021)
  • Forgotten In Death (2021)
  • Abandoned in Death (2022)
  • Desperation in Death (2022)
  • Encore in Death (2023)
  • Payback in Death (2023)
  • Random in Death (2024)
  • Passions in Death (2024)


What is the first book in J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series?

The first book is “Naked in Death.” It was published in 1995 and introduces us to Eve Dallas, a New York City police lieutenant, in the mid-21st century.

How many books are in the series?

As of my last update in April 2023, there are over 50 full novels and several novellas in the series. J.D. Robb (a pseudonym for Nora Roberts) has been consistently releasing new entries almost every year.

Do I need to read the “In Death” series in order?

While each book can stand on its own with a self-contained mystery, reading them in order is highly recommended. This way, you’ll get to see the evolution of character relationships and backstories in a way that adds depth to the series.

Can you name a few of the books in order?

Sure, here’s how the series starts: “Naked in Death,” “Glory in Death,” “Immortal in Death,” “Rapture in Death,” and “Ceremony in Death.” These initial books do a great job of setting up the world and characters.

Are there any spin-offs or related series?

No official spin-offs, but there are novellas that tie into the series, often found in collections like “Chronological List of the In Death Series.” These novellas sometimes focus on secondary characters and provide a deeper look into Robb’s futuristic world.

If you’re interested in getting into the series or just keeping up with Eve Dallas’ latest cases, there’s plenty to explore. Enjoy the ride through this compelling blend of mystery, romance, and science fiction.


In J.D. Robb’s book series, readers follow Lieutenant Eve Dallas as she solves crimes in a futuristic New York City. The novels combine mystery, romance, and science fiction elements, captivating audiences with their thrilling plots and well-developed characters. Fans enjoy the series for its gripping storytelling and immersive world-building.

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool provides a convenient solution for generating high-quality text-to-speech conversions. With its user-friendly interface and advanced features, users can easily convert written text into natural-sounding audio, making it a valuable tool for various applications, including accessibility, education, and content creation.

Leave a Comment