In Death Series Book Order

Are you looking to dive into the captivating world of J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series but unsure where to start? Fear not! This series, consisting of futuristic crime thrillers set in New York City, follows the adventures of Lieutenant Eve Dallas as she solves complex cases in a high-tech society. 

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the “In Death” series, ensuring you embark on Eve Dallas’s thrilling journey from the very beginning. Whether you’re a newcomer or a seasoned fan, understanding the sequence of these gripping novels will enhance your reading experience and immerse you fully in Robb’s futuristic universe.

Understanding In Death Series Book

The “In Death” series is a popular collection of books written by Nora Roberts under the pseudonym J.D. Robb. This series blends elements of science fiction, crime, mystery, and romance, and it’s set in a near-future version of New York City.

The series began in 1995 with “Naked in Death” and has grown to include over 50 books, making it quite a substantial read for fans of the genre.

Key Elements of the In Death Series:

  • Futuristic Setting: The series is set in the mid-21st century, which allows for the inclusion of advanced technology and societal changes that add an extra layer of intrigue to the storytelling. This futuristic backdrop includes things like flying cars, off-planet travel, and sophisticated forensic technologies.
  • Protagonist: The central character is Lieutenant Eve Dallas, a tough, dedicated, and highly skilled homicide detective with the New York Police and Security Department (NYPSD). Eve’s dark past and complex personality make her a compelling character who grows and evolves throughout the series.
  • Supporting Characters: The series features a robust cast of supporting characters, including Roarke, Eve’s enigmatic and wealthy husband with a murky past; Delia Peabody, Eve’s partner and friend; and an ensemble of friends, colleagues, and adversaries that enrich the narrative.
  • Themes and Genres: While the series primarily revolves around crime and mystery, it is also rich in romantic and personal development arcs. The relationship between Eve and Roarke is a central element, providing depth beyond the crime-solving plots. The stories explore themes of justice, love, trauma, and redemption.
  • Crime and Mystery Plots: Each book typically features a new case or mystery that Eve Dallas must solve, often involving murders that require her to navigate through complex clues and suspects. The cases frequently touch on social issues and moral dilemmas, adding layers of depth to the narrative.
  • Consistency and Evolution: Over the series, readers see characters grow, relationships develop, and the futuristic world expand. Despite the number of books, the series manages to keep the stories fresh and engaging through character development and by exploring new aspects of its setting.

Why Read the In Death Series?

  • Engaging Storytelling: J.D. Robb crafts compelling mysteries that keep readers guessing until the end. The blend of crime-solving, futuristic technology, and personal drama makes for a captivating read.
  • Character Development: The series does an excellent job of developing its characters, making readers invested in their lives and relationships.
  • Immersive World: The futuristic setting is well-constructed and immersive, offering an interesting backdrop to crime stories.

Starting the Series

Given its length, new readers might feel daunted. However, starting with “Naked in Death” is recommended as it introduces the characters, setting, and tone of the series. While each book has its standalone mystery, the ongoing development of characters and relationships means there’s added enjoyment in reading the series in order.

The “In Death” series is ideal for readers who enjoy detailed character development, complex plots, and a mix of genres. It’s a testament to J.D. Robb’s writing that the series remains popular and engaging after so many books.

Complete In Death Series Book Order

  • Naked in Death (1995)
  • Glory in Death (1995)
  • Immortal in Death (1996)
  • Rapture in Death (1996)
  • Ceremony In Death (1997)
  • Vengeance in Death (1997)
  • Holiday in Death (1998)
  • Midnight in Death (1998)
  • Conspiracy in Death (1999)
  • Loyalty in Death (1999)
  • Witness in Death (2000)
  • Judgement in Death (2000)
  • Betrayal in Death (2001)
  • Interlude in Death (2001)
  • Seduction in Death (2001)
  • Reunion In Death (2002)
  • Purity in Death (2002)
  • Portrait in Death (2003)
  • Imitation in Death (2003)
  • Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
  • Big Jack (2010)
  • Divided in Death (2004)
  • Visions in Death (2004)
  • Survivor in Death (2005)
  • Origin in Death (2005)
  • Memory in Death (2006)
  • Haunted in Death (2006)
  • Born in Death (2006)
  • Innocent in Death (2006)
  • Eternity in Death (2007)
  • Creation in Death (2007)
  • Strangers in Death (2008)
  • Salvation In Death (2008)
  • Ritual in Death (2008)
  • Promises in Death (2009)
  • Kindred in Death (2009)
  • Missing In Death (2009)
  • Fantasy in Death (2010)
  • Indulgence in Death (2010)
  • Possession in Death (2012)
  • Treachery in Death (2011)
  • New York to Dallas (2011)
  • Chaos in Death (2013)
  • Celebrity in Death (2012)
  • Delusion in Death (2012)
  • Calculated in Death (2013)
  • Thankless in Death (2013)
  • Taken in Death (2013)
  • Concealed in Death (2014)
  • Festive in Death (2014)
  • Obsession in Death (2015)
  • Devoted in Death (2015)
  • Wonderment in Death (2016)
  • Brotherhood in Death (2016)
  • Apprentice in Death (2016)
  • Echoes in Death (2017)
  • Secrets in Death (2017)
  • Dark in Death (2018)
  • Leverage in Death (2018)
  • Connections in Death (2019)
  • Vendetta in Death (2019)
  • Golden In Death (2020)
  • Shadows in Death (2020)
  • Faithless in Death (2021)
  • Forgotten In Death (2021)
  • Abandoned in Death (2022)
  • Desperation in Death (2022)
  • Encore in Death (2023)
  • Payback in Death (2023)
  • Random in Death (2024)
  • Passions in Death (2024)


What is the recommended reading order for the “In Death” series?

The recommended reading order for the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb is to start with the first book, “Naked in Death,” and then proceed chronologically through the series to fully enjoy the character development and overarching storylines.

Can I read the “In Death” books out of order?

While each book in the series can stand alone as a complete story, reading them out of order may result in missing out on character backgrounds and ongoing plot threads. It’s recommended to follow the chronological order for the best reading experience.

How many books are there in the “In Death” series?

As of the latest count, there are over 50 books in the “In Death” series, with J.D. Robb continuing to add to the series regularly. Fans can enjoy a vast collection of thrilling mysteries featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her team.

Are there any spin-offs or related series to the “In Death” books?

Yes, there are several spin-off series and novellas related to the “In Death” books, including the “Chronicles of the One” series, which explores a post-apocalyptic world, and various anthologies featuring shorter stories set in the same universe. These offer additional insights into the world created by J.D. Robb.


To sum up, the “In Death” series follows Lieutenant Eve Dallas as she solves crimes in a futuristic New York City. The books combine mystery, romance, and futuristic elements, making them captivating reads for fans of the genre. 

Additionally, the On4t Online TTS tool provides a convenient solution for adding stylish subtitles to videos quickly. With its user-friendly interface and efficient processing, it simplifies the subtitle creation process, making it accessible to a wide range of users. 

Leave a Comment