How To Watch Anita Blake Series In Order

The Anita Blake series is a captivating blend of fantasy, horror, and mystery, revolving around the life of Anita Blake, a professional zombie raiser, vampire executioner, and supernatural consultant for the police.

In this article, we will discuss how to watch the Anita Blake series in order. Whether you’re a newcomer or a long-time fan looking to revisit the series, we’ve got you covered with a guide to enjoy the series from start to finish.

Understanding Anita Blake Series

The Anita Blake series, created by Laurell K. Hamilton, follows the adventures of Anita Blake, a tough and independent necromancer living in a world where supernatural beings coexist with humans.

Throughout the series, Anita navigates complex relationships with vampires, werewolves, and other creatures while solving supernatural mysteries and battling dark forces. As the series progresses, Anita evolves from a solitary figure into a powerful leader, balancing her roles as a necromancer, vampire executioner, and paranormal investigator.

The books blend elements of horror, fantasy, and romance, offering readers a thrilling and immersive journey into a richly imagined world filled with magic and danger.

Explaining each book in the Anita Blake series in detail would be quite the task, but I’ll give you a brief overview of the series and its evolution through these titles in a simple and accessible manner.

  • Guilty Pleasures (1993): This book introduces Anita Blake, a vampire hunter and animator, in a world where vampires are legal citizens. Anita is asked to solve a series of vampire murders.
  • The Laughing Corpse (1994): Anita investigates a powerful zombie raising and faces a voodoo priestess. The stakes are higher, and the magic darker.
  • Circus of the Damned (1995): Anita becomes entangled with a vampire master of the city and a secret vampire society. The action and supernatural elements grow.

From The Lunatic Cafe to Bloody Bones, Anita’s world expands to include werewolves and werecreatures, deepening the series’ exploration of supernatural politics and personal dilemmas.

  • The Killing Dance (1997) marks a turning point with Anita facing personal threats and romantic entanglements, blending action with deeper emotional themes.

As the series progresses through titles like Burnt Offerings and Blue Moon, Anita’s powers and relationships with supernatural beings, including vampires and werecreatures, become more complex.

  • Obsidian Butterfly (2000) represents a high point in character development and action, showcasing Anita’s loyalty and power.

From Narcissus in Chains onwards, the series shifts focus towards more erotic elements while maintaining its core of supernatural mystery and action.

  • Micah (2006) and subsequent books like Danse Macabre and The Harlequin explore Anita’s role in the supernatural community, her powers, and her complex personal relationships.
  • Blood Noir (2008) and later books, including Skin Trade and Bullet, delve into political intrigue within the vampire and werecreature societies.

Recent titles like Serpentine (2018), Sucker Punch (2020), and Rafael (2021) continue to explore Anita’s challenges, both in her personal life and in her role as a supernatural enforcer.

  • Smoulder (2023) and Slay (2023) show Anita facing new and deadly threats in a world where the lines between friend and foe are increasingly blurred.

Each book builds on the last, evolving the series from detective noir to an intricate saga of power, love, and the supernatural. Anita Blake’s journey is one of constant growth, facing threats with courage and navigating the complexities of love and duty in a world where humans and supernatural beings coexist.

Complete Anita Blake Series In Order

  • Guilty Pleasures (1993)
  • The Laughing Corpse (1994)
  • Circus of the Damned (1995)
  • The Lunatic Cafe (1996)
  • Bloody Bones (1996)
  • The Killing Dance (1997)
  • Burnt Offerings (1998)
  • Blue Moon (1998)
    • The Girl Who was Infatuated with Death
  • Obsidian Butterfly (2000)
  • Narcissus in Chains (2001)
  • Cerulean Sins (2001)
  • Incubus Dreams (2004)
  • Micah (2006)
  • Danse Macabre (2006)
  • The Harlequin (2007)
  • Blood Noir (2008)
  • Skin Trade (2009)
  • Flirt (2009)
  • Bullet (2010)
  • Hit List (2011)
    • Beauty (2012)
  • Kiss the Dead (2012)
  • Affliction (2013)
    • Dancing (2013)
  • Jason (2014)
  • Dead Ice (2015)
    • Wounded (2016)
  • Crimson Death (2016)
  • Serpentine (2018)
  • Sucker Punch (2020)
  • Rafael (2021)
  • Smoulder (2023)
  • Slay (2023)


What is the Anita Blake series about?

The Anita Blake series is a collection of urban fantasy novels written by Laurell K. Hamilton. It follows the adventures of Anita Blake, a professional zombie raiser, vampire executioner, and supernatural consultant. The series blends elements of horror, mystery, and romance, set in a world where supernatural creatures coexist with humans.

How many books are in the Anita Blake series?

As of now, there are 27 books in the Anita Blake series. The series begins with “Guilty Pleasures” and continues with titles like “The Laughing Corpse,” “Circus of the Damned,” and “The Killing Dance.” It’s a long-running series with plenty of twists and turns to keep readers hooked.

What is the recommended reading order for the Anita Blake series?

The best way to experience the Anita Blake series is to read it in publication order. This means starting with “Guilty Pleasures” and proceeding through the series chronologically. Reading in order allows you to follow the development of characters and the overarching plotlines in a coherent manner.

Are there any spin-offs or related series to the Anita Blake books?

Yes, there are spin-off series and related works that expand on the Anita Blake universe. One notable spin-off is the Merry Gentry series, also written by Laurell K. Hamilton, which follows the adventures of Meredith Gentry, a faerie princess living in modern-day Los Angeles.


It’s important to watch the Anita Blake series in order to fully appreciate the development of the characters and the unfolding of the intricate plotlines. Following the series chronologically allows readers to immerse themselves in the rich and captivating world created by Laurell K. Hamilton.

Additionally, utilizing tools like On4t Online TTS can enhance the reading experience for individuals who prefer listening to audiobooks. With its user-friendly interface and natural-sounding text-to-speech technology, On4t Online TTS provides a convenient way to enjoy the Anita Blake series while on the go or during other activities.

Leave a Comment