Complete The Hobbit series in order

The Hobbit series, authored by J.R.R. Tolkien, is a beloved fantasy saga cherished by readers worldwide. It chronicles the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who embarks on an unexpected journey filled with peril, friendship, and discovery across the enchanting landscapes of Middle-earth.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of The Hobbit series, providing a clear guide for those eager to immerse themselves in Tolkien’s captivating world

Understanding The Hobbit series in order

“The Hobbit” series, if we’re talking about the films directed by Peter Jackson, is a prequel to the “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy and is based on the 1937 novel “The Hobbit” by J.R.R. Tolkien. The series consists of three movies that were released in the following order:

  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” (2012): This first film introduces us to Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who lives a quiet life until the wizard Gandalf and a group of dwarves arrive on his doorstep. They recruit Bilbo on a quest to reclaim the Lonely Mountain and its treasure from the dragon Smaug. The film sets the stage for the adventure, showcasing the beginning of Bilbo’s journey from a conservative hobbit to a brave adventurer.
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” (2013): The second film continues the journey of Bilbo and the dwarves as they venture into the Mirkwood Forest, encounter elves, and finally reach the Lonely Mountain. Bilbo comes face to face with the dragon Smaug in an attempt to find the Arkenstone. The film heightens the adventure and introduces new characters and obstacles, including the significant threat posed by Smaug.
  • “The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies” (2014): The final film in the series covers the aftermath of Smaug’s attack on Lake-town and leads to a massive battle over the treasure of the Lonely Mountain. The battle involves dwarves, elves, men, and orcs, and it concludes Bilbo’s journey in a dramatic and action-packed finale. The film ties up the story arcs and sets the stage for the events that will unfold in “The Lord of the Rings.”

Peter Jackson expanded “The Hobbit” from a single book into a trilogy by incorporating additional material from Tolkien’s appendices and other works, allowing for a more detailed exploration of Middle-earth and its inhabitants.

While some fans appreciated the expansive storytelling, others felt the series was stretched too thin. Regardless, “The Hobbit” trilogy offers a visually stunning and entertaining prelude to the epic tale of “The Lord of the Rings.”


  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies


What is the main storyline of the Hobbit series?

The Hobbit follows Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who embarks on an adventure with a group of dwarves to reclaim their homeland from the dragon Smaug.

Is the Hobbit series connected to the Lord of the Rings?

Yes, it serves as a prequel to the Lord of the Rings trilogy, featuring some of the same characters and events that set the stage for the later story.

How many movies are there in the Hobbit series?

There are three films in total: “An Unexpected Journey,” “The Desolation of Smaug,” and “The Battle of the Five Armies.”

Was there a change in directors during the production of the Hobbit series?

Yes, originally Guillermo del Toro was set to direct, but Peter Jackson took over the directorial duties, maintaining continuity with his work on the Lord of the Rings trilogy.


So, to sum it up, “The Hobbit” series unfolds the adventures of Bilbo Baggins as he embarks on a thrilling journey filled with danger, friendship, and self-discovery. From encountering trolls to battling dragons, each installment captivates readers with its vivid storytelling and rich fantasy world.

Moreover, the On4t Online TTS tool enhances accessibility by converting text to speech, making content more accessible for individuals with visual impairments or those who prefer auditory learning. 

Leave a Comment