Complete the GTA Series In Order

The GTA series, short for Grand Theft Auto, is a renowned video game franchise known for its open-world gameplay and immersive storytelling. Spanning multiple decades, the series has captivated gamers worldwide with its diverse characters, expansive maps, and thrilling missions.

In this article, we will discuss the chronological order of the GTA series, guiding you through the evolution of gameplay mechanics, graphics, and narrative elements across each installment.

Understanding GTA Series

The Grand Theft Auto (GTA) series is one of the most popular and influential video game franchises in the world. Developed by Rockstar Games, it’s known for its open-world gameplay, where players can explore vast, detailed environments and engage in a mix of story missions, side quests, and various recreational activities. Let’s dive into what makes the GTA series stand out:

Key Features:

  • Open World Gameplay: Players are dropped into expansive, detailed worlds based on fictional versions of real-life cities (like Los Santos in GTA V, inspired by Los Angeles). The open-world design allows for a high degree of freedom, letting players explore the city, interact with various characters, and discover hidden secrets at their own pace.
  • Storytelling: Each game in the series features a strong narrative, focusing on characters who are often criminals or involved in criminal activities. The stories combine humor, satire, and drama to critique societal norms, politics, and pop culture.
  • Missions and Activities: Players undertake missions that advance the main storyline, along with a plethora of side missions and activities ranging from racing and heists to more mundane tasks like driving taxis or playing golf.
  • Controversial Elements: The series is known for its adult themes, including violence, substance abuse, and other mature content. This has led to controversy but also discussions about video game storytelling and the depiction of morality.

Evolution of the Series:

  • Early Games (GTA, GTA 2): The series started with top-down, arcade-style gameplay, focusing on completing missions for various criminal syndicates, with a simple but effective formula for chaotic fun.
  • 3D Universe (GTA III, Vice City, San Andreas): With GTA III, the series made a revolutionary leap to 3D graphics, significantly expanding the gameplay possibilities and setting the template for future open-world games. Vice City and San Andreas further built on this, adding more depth to storytelling, character development, and world-building.
  • HD Universe (GTA IV, GTA V): GTA IV introduced a more realistic and detailed world, along with a deeper narrative. GTA V, the most ambitious installment, features three playable protagonists, an expansive state of San Andreas to explore, and a groundbreaking online multiplayer mode, GTA Online, which has become a massive success on its own.

Impact and Legacy:

The GTA series has had a profound impact on the gaming industry, pushing the boundaries of what’s possible in video games regarding scale, storytelling, and player freedom. It has inspired countless other games and has become a cultural phenomenon, known even among those who don’t play video games. The series has faced criticism for its portrayal of violence and other mature themes, sparking debates about media influence and censorship. Despite this, or perhaps because of it, the GTA series remains a critical and commercial success, with each new release being highly anticipated.

GTA’s influence extends beyond gaming, affecting music, television, and movies through its satirical take on American culture. Its open-world design has been emulated by numerous other games, setting a standard for how video games can create immersive and dynamic worlds for players to explore.

Complete GTA Series In Order

  • Grand Theft Auto (1997)
  • Grand Theft Auto 2 (1999)
  • Grand Theft Auto III (2001)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (2002)
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (2004)
  • Grand Theft Auto Advance (2004)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (2005)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (2006)
  • Grand Theft Auto IV (2008)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (2009)
  • Grand Theft Auto V (2013)


1. What is the GTA series about?

The GTA (Grand Theft Auto) series is a collection of action-adventure video games. It typically involves open-world gameplay where players can explore, complete missions, and engage in various activities like driving, shooting, and interacting with NPCs.

2. How many games are in the GTA series?

As of now, there are over 15 games in the GTA series, including mainline titles like GTA V, GTA IV, and older classics like GTA San Andreas and GTA Vice City. The series has expanded to include spin-offs and expansions across various platforms.

3. What platforms can I play GTA games on?

GTA games are available on a wide range of platforms, including PlayStation, Xbox, PC, and mobile devices. Most of the recent titles are released on multiple platforms simultaneously, while older titles may be limited to specific consoles or systems.

4. What makes GTA games popular?

The popularity of GTA games stems from their immersive open-world environments, compelling storylines, and freedom of gameplay. Players enjoy the ability to explore vast cities, engage in diverse activities, and experience a mix of action, humor, and satire unique to the series.


To sum up, the Grand Theft Auto (GTA) series follows a chronological order, starting with GTA: Vice City Stories and ending with GTA V. Each installment builds on the previous one, offering players new features, improved graphics, and engaging storylines.

Additionally, On4t Online TTS tool revolutionizes how we interact with text, allowing for efficient conversion of written content into speech. Its user-friendly interface and wide range of language options make it a valuable tool for various applications, from accessibility to content creation.

Leave a Comment